Nostalgia Nosh

I love black pudding.  I have not seen any for years.  I was thinking of the delicious Irish Breakfast I had in Ballyvaughan so long ago, and pining for a taste of black pudding.  The local butcher undertook to get some in, and after a long wait it arrived last week.  I was so happy I bought the lot. Twenty five dollars worth.

I prepared some for breakfast the next morning and was, to put it mildly, bitterly disappointed.  The sausage was dry and so bland as to be almost tasteless.  The black pudding I know is moist, slightly fatty, with a pleasant herbal flavour.  This, however, was crap.  And here I was, stuck with almost a kilo of the stuff.  There had to be a way to salvage it.

I gave it some thought and here is what I did:

Through the Kenwood mincer I put the black puddings, 200 g of fatty bacon, an onion, a carrot, a bulb of garlic and 500g of pork and veal mince.  I added an egg, a little salt and pepper,  a good tablespoon or so of assorted herbs and gave it all a jolly good mix.

I then pressed the mixture into patties, using an egg ring to make them all the same size and thickness.  I laid them on squares of non-stick baking paper and froze them.  Except the two I had for tea.

They were delicious!

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAOLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

 

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Cookery, Food and drink, quandaries and Dilemmas and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

