Zest

Usually I am not interested in sweet foods.  I rarely eat cake or biscuits, or have a dessert. In fact I would eschew dessert in favour of a second helping of prawns or potato any time.   So it is odd that I have lately been baking such things as malt loaves and chocolate self saucing sponge puddings when I have no reason.

I would normally prepare such things only when sharing food for a morning tea or pot luck meal.   Once I have made them and sampled them, I am quite happy to freeze them, or even feed them to the wildlife.  I now have malt loaf and choc pudding stored away or frozen, and today it came into my head to make muesli bars.  Pretty good ones too, as it turns out.  I shall probably take them to work tomorrow.  Too good to feed to magpies and possums.

Last night after the possum had eaten the vege scraps I left out for her, leftovers from the carrot and capsicum sambal I made yesterday,  I put some of my malt loaf out.  She came back to eat that.  I think she likes it more than I do.

Right now I am thinking I would like something with an orange flavour.  What is going on in my head?   For tea tonight I shall reheat a serving of the rendang I made yesterday  with the remains of the sambal.  There are three more helpings of rendang in the freezer.  But I am thinking about oranges…

Zest.

Zest.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Cookery, Depression, Food and drink, Health and wellness, Life, don't talk to me about life!, possums, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Zest

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    Probably because of this post I decided to try the Russian Standard Vodka I picked up some time ago.
    BUT! I had run out of Roses Lime Cordial(n.b. all spirits can be mixed with lime and soda as a before-dinner drink.
    Although one acquaintance(of short continuance) who added those to my VERY expensive Hennessy Cognac will burn for it.)
    So I opened the locally produced lime juice,not from concentrate,made in New Ziiland,real citrus squeezins and used that.
    Great.
    I might buy this in future and avoid the sugar.

    Like

  2. Pilgrim33 says:

    Add to vodka,leave in fridge 24hrs,drink,regret.

    Like

Please comment!

