Smoke.

The fields around Katanning are burning.  The air is full of smoke.  Many find it annoying but I think the smell of burning chaff has quite a pleasant smell.

Farmers are burning off the stubble of last years crops, ready to plant the next.  I wonder why they don’t plough the stubble into the ground.  Surely that would keep a lot of carbon from the atmosphere.  It seems everyone follows the “no till” philosophy here. Just burn and sow.  There was a most amazing red sunset this evening, tinting the haze.  I did not get a photo of it, though earlier in the day I did get a few pictures of the cause.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I did not get a photo of the sunset because I was driving.  I made a 140 km round trip this evening to visit a friend and have dinner with him.  Did I mention this is a big country?  It should only have been a 110 km round trip, but I missed a turnoff.  Blame the dark and the smoke, and the fact I thought I did not need the GPS.  I didn’t mind the extra miles.  It was a pleasant drive and almost surreal in places as I drove through smoke with the fires still flickering red in the fields.   It almost had a post-apocalyptic feel.

Don served a really big blue steak with vegetables.  He is a really good cook.   I may have mentioned that before.  Don lives way out in the country where it is still and silent.  The sky is beauiful above his home, even when hazed with smoke.  We had a look for any straggling Lyrid meteors and spotted a couple.

After dinner we watched a restored BluRay copy of A Night to Remember.  Still a good film despite having been outshone in some ways by Titanic.  On the way home I learned that my Camry’s range with the fuel light on is at least 50km.  It took a while to get home because I dropped to 75K and 1800 revs on cruise control to conserve fuel.   I made it, thank goodness.

I did not know that the roadhouse in Broomehill has closed.  It used to be open until ten.  I always carry water, maybe I should always carry fuel too.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Lifestyle, Movies, Photography, Western Australia and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Smoke.

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    Economics.
    The cost of fuel to do the more desirable pattern of agriculture makes the crops unprofitable.
    Or possibly some people still do what their fore fathers did.

    Like

Please comment!

