Hyperbole and Insults.

It must be a characteristic of the ill-educated and unintelligent, that they assume everyone is as stupid as they.  I have to curb my desire to react strongly and antagonistically and flame anyone who posts on Facebook such overly-hyped statements as

This will blow you away!

It didn’t.   In fact I found it quite unsurprising, though somewhat amusing.

This is mind blowing!

Quite predictable actually.  Interesting to watch, but scarcely mind-blowing.  And the expression needs a hyphen.

69 things you didn’t know about New Zealand!

21 things you didn’t know that will blow you away!

I knew them all.  Don’t assume that because you are uneducated, I am too.  How about “Interesting facts I have learned“.  Don’t project your ignorance onto others.

You have been (cutting tomatoes)  (doing some other mundane task) wrong all your life!

I haven’t.  Don’t think that because you are stupid, I am too.

Preferable:

A simple technique for cutting multiple cherry tomatoes in half.

Much better.

Lastly, the most over-used word on Facebook today?  Adorable.  

pleeeeeze

Addendum:

On the other hand I did not know this.  I do like new information.

petrichor_n

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in complaints rorts and rip=offs, Computers and Internet, Life, don't talk to me about life! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Hyperbole and Insults.

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    One must have tolerance for all the people stupider than you.
    Until youthanasia becomes legal.
    That is the practice of putting people out of my misery.

    Like

Please comment!

