Memory Reprise

Continuuing my occasional reposting of earlier classics:

From April 2007;

I was just given the neatest excuse as to why the Ministry server with my Environmental Discussion Database was going slow:

It had a memory leak.  Rebooting fixed it.  That is so cool!  I did not know computers can leak memory.  I would hate that to happen to me.  (Although the girls think it does already – “We’ve heard that story Dad”…)

Nor did I know  that they stop leaking if you boot them.  Is that like kicking an old man to stop him from reminiscing?
Don’t tell my daughters about this theory.

Anyway, I asked how a server leaks memory. I learned from the man in charge of the server that this distressing syndrome is  “most often software related though I suspect this case is related to hardware specifically the NIC“.  

This of course tells me nothing. It is all Geek to me. I still don’t see how memory leaks.  

On thinking it over, I think I would prefer not to understand the technicalities of it anyway.  I rather prefer my own imaginings on the subject.  It is rather poetic when one considers it.

I shall continue to visualise the server steadily dripping quanta of binary or hex data which coalesces into a puddle – looking something like digital alphabet soup – before seeping down through the interstices of the floor and percolating down through the earth until it is trapped deep deep down by a layer of rock in some dark and distant underground chamber, right here on the edge of the fault line.  There it will sit for millions of years, slowly solidifying, until one day it will be thrust up in an upheaval, discovered and used as a source of ore for an invaluable data mine. Very romantic.   The very thought cheered me up a little.

 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Computers and Internet, Handy Hints, History, Humour, Life, don't talk to me about life! and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Memory Reprise

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    What is a blog or a diary but leaked memory?
    (You knew that was coming didn’t you?)

    Like

Please comment!

