Quiet Night Thoughts

Quiet Night Thoughts

Before my bed
bright moonlight
that seems
Like frost on the ground:

I lift my head
to watch the bright moon,
Lowering my head
I dream I am home.

Alone, looking at the Mountain

The birds have gone, all flown away;
A lonely cloud floats leisurely by.
We regard each other – and never tire
Just the mountain and I.

Homeless, exiled, I climb Sin-Ping tower.

Now late in the dying year,
The sun declining in the sky
The dark river flows gloomy and slow.

A cloud glides over the mountain  forests ;
Wild geese fly away downriver.
From here I see ten thousand miles,
But I see no end to my sorrows.

A Quiet Night Thought

Moonlight before my bed
Perhaps frost on the ground.
Lift my head and see the moon
Lower my head and pine for home.

Drinking Alone by Moonlight 

    花間一壺酒。

A cup of wine, under the flowering trees;

    獨酌無相親。

I drink alone, for no friend is near.

    舉杯邀明月。

Raising my cup I beckon the bright moon,

    對影成三人。

For he, with my shadow, will make three men.

    月既不解飲。

The moon, alas, is no drinker of wine;

    影徒隨我身。

Listless, my shadow creeps about at my side.

    暫伴月將影。

Yet with the moon as friend and the shadow as slave

    行樂須及春。

I must make merry before the Spring is spent.

    我歌月徘徊。

To the songs I sing the moon flickers her beams;

    我舞影零亂。

In the dance I weave my shadow tangles and break.

    醒時同交歡。

While we were sober, three shared the fun;

    醉後各分散。

Now we are drunk, each goes his way.

    永結無情遊。

May we long share our odd, inanimate feast,

    相期邈雲漢。

And meet at last on the Cloudy River of the sky.

    Poems by Li Po. Translations by various persons, interpretations by me.

 

  • Spring Evening Banquet at the Peach and Pear Blossom Garden
About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Philosophy, Poetry and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Quiet Night Thoughts

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    I like the 1st one.

    Like

Please comment!

