Bearded Loon

I am growing a beard again.

It seems, to have any street cred in this part of the world, a biker needs a beard.   I have a creditable bike, I have the paunch and the attitude, I even have the feckin’ vocabulary.   I refuse to wear the silly coal-scuttle helmet and a tee-shirt when riding, but that side of appearance does not seem to be so important, anyway. No one looks askance at my hi-viz armoured jacket either.

Last time I had a beard; folk said I looked like George Clooney.   Can’t see it myself.

ARF Fiji Beard_n

ARF clooney

But if so, it was a tubby George Clooney, to be sure.  I would have thought Brian Blessed was a more likely comparison, but perhaps not so many people know who he is.

Blessed

The explanation  for my revisit to hirsutism is simple. I split my upper and lower lips and broke my nose last week in a heroic action that need not be the subject of this post. I am not relating the tale due to modesty.  Or to embarrassment – take your pick.  I was therefore a little too sensitive around the mouth to shave for a few days.  By the time the swelling and tenderness subsided sufficiently, I had enough growth under way to make it worth carrying on.   So I decided to.

I was fortunate to have a 5 day weekend in which to heal and grow hair.   I had Thursday and Friday off for medical matters, and the following Monday turned out to be an unexpected holiday.  It was WA Labour Day, one of those statutory holidays that everyone forgets about and which therefore sneaks up on you.

My nose is still tender, but no more unsightly than it has ever been. I did not suffer black eyes, and the swollen lip subsided pretty quickly.  All thanks, I suspect, to the immediate application of copious quantities of ice to my face straight after sustaining the injury.  I was lucky to be somewhere ice was available at the time.   I was worried at first the damage might affect the use of my ResMed nasal pillows but there too I was very lucky.  My sleep has not been affected, as long as I am careful putting the device on.

The most annoying after-effect is when I forgetfully scratch an itch on my nose.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Apnoea, Health and wellness, Motorbikes, Motorcycling, Non-Events, Relationships, tall tales and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Bearded Loon

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    I see the point re GC.
    I think it’s the flesh over the cheekbones plus the eyes.
    Perhaps you should do a screen test.
    And you are not enough of a prat to resemble Brian .

    Like

  2. Bob says:

    Like all good beards it makes look distinguished, like you know something others don’t. :)

    Like

    • Alan says:

      Not being able to match yours Bob, is one of the reasons i removed it. Now the competition is far away. The bearded locals do all look like George Clooney – but as he appeared in ‘O Brother’.

      Like

  3. Pilgrim33 says:

    The ones with beards are the men.
    Most of the rest are women.
    You’ll tell us someday.

    Like

Please comment!

