Evil.

For some reason, the event about which I posted yesterday preyed heavily on my mind last night.  I barely slept.  This morning I am red-eyed and distressed.  Depressed.   I don’t know why this particular event has affected me so badly but I kept seeing my daughters in that terrible situation, and daughters of friends, or the lovely young Muslim women I work with. Young women who are so charming, cheerful, educated and capable. 

Whether that specific reported incident is factual may be open to conjecture, but there is plenty of evidence of this sort of behaviour happening around the world to make that consideration completely irrelevant.

This is why I am atheist.

I cannot understand why anyone would choose to believe in a deity who would allow this to happen in their name.  It is unconscionable to accept the concept there could be a being, all-knowing and all-powerful, who would permit such an unethical, immoral, unprincipled, indefensible, wrong thing to happen when it could be averted in one of his avowed mysterious ways.  How anyone could put their faith in such a being is beyond me.

This is not about Islam, any more than the KKK is about being Baptist, or the Inquisition Catholic.  This is about the evil abrogation of human decency and human rights by evil men with lust for power and the fear of losing it.

The mythical entity these evil creatures evoke to support their ideals is clearly an image of themselves, constructed from their own foul obsessions.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Death, Depression, Family, History, Life, don't talk to me about life!, News and politics, Nightmares, Philosophy, Religion and Superstition and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Evil.

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    Very well said.
    Try to remember that when we are in an already weakened state the smallest thing can push us into the pit.

    Like

Please comment!

