Good Reading

Some time ago I finished  A Dance with Dragons, the latest (so far) volume of A Song of Ice and Fire  (Game of Thrones) and I am eager for the next to be published.  I have not become so interested in the fates of characters of a novel since I don’t know when.  I am looking forward to A Dream of Spring.  

In the meantime, in a second hand bookshop in Mt Barker I found two volumes of a Celtic mythology/fantasy series by someone I had never heard of before; Caiseal Mór, the autistic Australian Irishman.  I have always had a “thing” about Celtic mythology, and a pretty large collection of various volumes on the subject are among my most treasured books which are (I hope) still safely secured in the lock-up storage in Lower Hutt.  I was pleased to find a new author in the field.   The trouble is I prefer to read such volumes in order, and I have been looking out for the others in the series.  However, I shall make a start on one.

Meantime I have been honing my reasoning power with some study on How to Reason and Argue, a free university paper from Coursera.   Ah! The power of language.  This course should be compulsory in all schools.

I also enjoy the critical thinking promoted by E-skeptic, and the latest edition has a reprint of  a 1992 Tribute to Isaac Asimov and an interesting read of the top articles published in 2013.

So far I have not suffered Facebook Withdrawal.  Since I first started on Facebook only to stay in touch with my children, and since it has not actually worked out to be a very effective means of contact with them, I am thinking I shall not bother with it any further.  Instead I shall devote more time to becoming the veritable Samuel Pepys of my age, filing away on the internet all the meaningless and mundane detail of everyday life, which , no doubt, shall someday in a few hundred years time provide valuable historical insights to whoever might then be the inheritors of the earth.

The problem is, I have much worthier competition and, no doubt, I shall in fact fade into well-earned obscurity barely moments after my very last post. 

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Books, Entertainment, Family, fiction, Folklore, History, Hobbies, Humour, Music, Nature, News and politics, opinion, Organizations, Philosophy, Relationships, Religion and Superstition and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Good Reading

  1. Alan says:

    I too think Arya is the most interesting, Danaerys is possibly most promising, Jon Snow was shaping up well. . However the last chapter left his future in doubt. i also like the characters of Tyrion lannister and Brienne of Tarth. One of the really outstanding features of these novels is that all characters have points of view and characteristics that make them interesting. Almost all, with just a few exceptions, have positive or redeeming qualities. Most of all I like the unpredictability. The Red Wedding and subsequent reanimation of Catelyn Stark, are good examples.

    Like

  2. Pilgrim33 says:

    My favourite character is Arya.
    You might know this- Arya is blinded,presumably temporarily,by a drink that tastes of burnt milk.
    I can find no possible candidate for this potion.
    Any ideas?
    ‘Tis a pity The Stark males were all stupid.
    If as I believe Jon Snow is the son of Prince Rhaegar Targaryen and Eddard’s sister Lyanna then he is the ‘rightful’ king.
    Still,the best big series since JRRT.

    Like

Please comment!

