2014: The Saga Continues…

More mundane details of the life of an aging EHO…

Today was a perfect day for a ride. The sun was behind clouds most of the time and the temperature was pleasantly in the lower mid twenties.  I set out for Ewlyamartup, thinking I might have a swim, and on the way, merely on a whim, I turned into the Landfill to see who had the bad luck to be on duty on New Year’s Day. As I had suspected it was Kel.  His wife Jeanette was there, having taken him his lunch. So we sat and chatted for a bit about life the universe and everything, as you do.  Kel asked after the frogs and I told him I had not seen any this year except the one I had accidentally killed.  He told me he had one in the toilet, there at the tip. At first I did not believe him, suspecting some prank was about to be pulled but he earnestly swore it was there and asked me to remove it as it bugged him every time he went to use the facility. I said I would be happy to adopt it if it was really there, so we went to check it out.  I flushed the loo, and sure enough out from under the rim came a frog.  I grabbed for it, but it evaded my grasp, plopped into the bowl and disappeared round the S-bend.

I have heard of flocks of soiled budgies emerging from the sewer to infringe your personal liberties, but this was pretty cool.   Kel says it often goes round the bend, always returns, and startles him every time he needs to visit the little room. So I shall come back another day and try again.  It deserves a better life than living in a dunny.  Talk about a loo-ser.

Ewlyamartup was occupied by a camper bus, and a bunch of canoeists and jetskiers.  I managed to get a couple of good shots of the stillness of the lake before it was disrupted by roaring motors and bow waves.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA I rode on up the road and around the back way to Tie Line road and in to Broomehill. Back via  Schultz road and Police pools.  There I was alone, and almost decided to try swimming there instead, but something about that place makes me not want to swim there.  The sky cleared for a short while and I took a few more photos, including one of a heron, and another of the sun illuminating the gum leaking from a tree where it had been wounded.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Then home to do a bit of Awesome Cookery.  I called in on Carl to invite him to dinner, as I am feeling a little more sociable now.  Unfortunately he is not.  Never mind. Julie will be back in a few days.  

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, birds, Cookery, Depression, Drama, Family, Food and drink, frogs, Games, Health and wellness, Hobbies, Humour, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, Motorbikes, Motorcycling, Nature, Philosophy, Photography, Relationships, Riding, Travel, Weather, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to 2014: The Saga Continues…

  1. Pingback: Pound Frog | Hodophilia

  2. Alan says:

    Cheers Andrea. I have a spare camera you are welcome to play with. It is a Sony F717, and pretty hi-tech. Just a bit dated as far as megapixels go. Only a 5 megapixel sensor but it has an excellent 5x optical zoom lens, http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonydscf717

    Like

  3. Alan says:

    I have a spare camera you are welcome to play with. It is aa Sony F717 and pretty good. less megapixels than more modern ones but still a good camera: http://www.dpreview.com/reviews/sonydscf717
    .

    Like

  4. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist says:

    I think Word Press is suffering a New Year hangover, I can’t seem to like posts at the moment. Great shots, and i think trusting your instinct when it comes to swimming holes is a good policy.

    Like

    • Alan says:

      Thanks David. I noticed for a while i had two “likes” but only Andrea’s avatar showed. Then it went back to one. Somethings Strange in the Webberhood… By the way I signed up to ride with Charlie Bear. I hope i get the chance, I know Eric the Chicken would like to meet him.

      Like

      • Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist says:

        I hope he does make it all the way to WA Alan. I know that is the aim, but his travel plans seem to be an ever changing thing.

        Like

    • Alan says:

      Damn, now i am posting replies that disappear. Word Press IS suffering a New Year hangover!

      Like

Please comment!

