2014: The full story so far…

2014.

It began at 05:23.  I opened a bleary eye and peered out into the early dawn light that insinuated itself through the vertical blinds.  A cool breeze sifted through the flat. The front and back doors, and the kitchen, bedroom and bathroom windows  were all open, security flyscreens locked against unwanted intrusion, such as Carl with his phone camera, taking embarrassing photos of me asleep.  Won’t catch me like that again!

My elbow itched intensely. A mosquito had found the gap in the fly screen.  My nose hurt slightly.  The respirator nasal pillow must have slipped in the night as I slept, applying uneven pressure on one nostril. That also explained the mystifying hissing sound in my ear.  The mask was leaking air.  I took it off and sat up, counting down.  “Four, three, two one.” Ms Caer Ibormeith, the ResMed machine shut off on cue, realising I was no longer on the other end of the hose.  I did not thank her for a good night’s sleep. I was not yet sure if it had been.  I dimly recalled angsty, angry dreams. Two bottles of Swedish cider go down so easily that last night it had seemed ok to follow them with a couple of drams of Tawny.

Now I needed to find the anti-itch cream.  I was interrupted in the search for it by two urgent and conflicting needs.  Coffee and defecation.  I attended to them in order of priority.  The coffee took a while, because I had to find my grinder that has been stashed for over a year at the back of a little-used corner cupboard.  Finally, sitting on the lavatory with a Dr Who Tardis mug of hot Altezzano – the mug a Christmas gift from Michelle and the coffee a Solstice gift from Glenn – I sat scratching the elbow, enjoying the delicious coffee, and ruminating that stewed prunes were not only better tasting than Metamucil, but a damn sight more effective.

The day outside is very pleasant so far. Overcast, a slight breeze and even at 06:30 merely a very pleasant 18 degrees C.  Much cooler than the previous week. If the clouds don’t burn off too soon it could be a very nice day.  In any case it is certainly a day for a ride.  That is the plan.  Later I am going to cook a Notable Meal.  If it is any good you can check it out later on my cooking blog. Today will be a respite from the self-imposed  semi-strict dietary regimen of the last month.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Apnoea, Autobiography, Depression, Food and drink, Health and wellness, Humour, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, Motorbikes, Nightmares, Political Correctness, Riding and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

