Calibration.

How does one calibrate a speedometer?

The GPS and my bike do not agree.  120KPH on the bike speedo is 107 according to the Garmin , which happens to agree exactly with the speedo in my Toyota.  The good news is that as long as I keep an eye on the needle, I should not be getting a speeding ticket. It could be a disaster if the error was the other way round.

On the other hand, according to my bike odometer, I rode 401 km from Bindoon to home, whereas Google says the distance is 362 km.    That is quite a variation and I suspect it means I am adding mileage and depreciation to my bike at an excessive rate.  What can be done about that?

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Handy Hints, Hobbies, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, Motorbikes, Motorcycling, Nightmares, quandaries and Dilemmas, Riding, Science, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Calibration.

  1. Pingback: Yellow Box | Hodophilia

  2. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist says:

    A little bird told me that as part of the ADR requirements all speedos need to over-estimate the speed, but it could be an urban myth. How to fix it? No idea.

    Like

  3. DaveB says:

    Bigger front wheel?

    Like

  4. Chris says:

    I have had the same problem, I have installed a Yellow Box . It goes in line with the speedo connections and is infinitely adjustable.

    Like

Please comment!

