Arms and the Man

Dad asked if riding to Bindoon and back was an indication that my arm is better. Sadly, no. It is just as dysfunctional as ever, and will remain so until the muscle is reattached.  It is mere good fortune that I am still capable of riding.  The arm does not hurt but I can’t lift it very high by itself.  It has no lifting strength at all, and a limited range of independent movement.  However, it still has a full range of movement if assisted by the other arm. From the physiotherapist I have a series of exercises designed to ensure the remaining muscles stay functional and do not atrophy from disuse.

The important thing is that I can raise the arm by itself just high enough to grasp the handlebar.  Once I have that in my grip, I have all the functionality I need.  Now that the shoulder is not causing me any discomfort or pain (that stopped when the muscle finished tearing away) I can ride as well as ever.  I validated this with a few rides accompanied by my friends Andrew and Brenton before venturing off on my own.

Before setting off on this latest long ride I even gently lay the silver lady down on my lawn, and made sure I could pick her up again.  I could, but I have to admit I might need help on the roadside, especially if she ends up head down on a camber.  Then I apologised to her for the indignity and gave her a clean and polish so that she gleamed.  That always cheers her up.  Me too.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, disability, Drinking Water, Family, fires and disasters, Health and wellness, Motorbikes, Motorcycling, Riding, torn muscles, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

