Bindoon that Road Before

I had to go to an EHO meeting in Bindoon.  I took the bike.  It makes travel much more enjoyable and having a destination makes riding even more fun.  also it was a Noble Gesture, because the Shire is a bit short of cars, having no pool car at present, so I made mine available for use by someone who had to make a trip to Bunbury.

I was organised, and took everything I needed – including the sleep machine, all packed into my cissy seat bag.  The pannier bags are already full of potentially needful things such as tools, wet gear, first aid kit, water, spare visors (tinted and non). I forgot nothing, carried everything I might need, and was lucky enough not to need most of it.  I did not need to ride in the dark, I  missed the adverse weather, and it seems I missed the gunfight along the route.  The police shot some chap who turned violent after being pulled over for speeding.

I rode out of Katanning at 2.30 pm on Thursday and stayed that night with Sue and Steve in Perth.  Early next morning I headed for Bindoon, arriving in plenty of time for the 08.30 start of the meeting.   That evening I ate at Bite! restaurant, which serves a very good pork chop and salad, and stayed at an excellent B&B.  The owner happened to be a Wildlife Rescue carer, and had a lot of kangaroos in her charge.  I like kangaroos.

Just a ruse

She also had a lot of frogs which serenaded me to sleep. I like frogs.

She also served a good breakfast.  I like a good breakfast.

Coming home, I rode through Toodyay and down the back road from Northam to York, through Spencer’s Brook, a very popular road with those Perth weekend riders who do a circuit through Brookton, York and Toodyay.  The cafes in  York do a roaring trade with riders on the weekend.  I chatted with some of them as I ate a salad roll and drank an energy drink.  That was when I realised I was seeing a developing trend in biker one-upmanship.  It seems to be some alternative form of establishing a pecking order, rather than basing it on cc rating or bike brand.  No one comments much on that anymore.  But I have been asked on previous occasions, and was asked again today “How long have you had your full licence?” The enquirers fall silent when I say “Forty seven years”.

(Later)… Well wherever I was going with that will have to wait now until I reassemble my thoughts.  I have just had a good long Skype chat with my mate Dave the Avocado Rancher in NZ. Lost my train of thought and now need to go and heat a can of beans.  See you later.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Animal Husbandry, Autobiography, Death, Drama, Entertainment, kangaroos, Motorbikes, Motorcycling, Nature, News and politics, Philosophy, Photography, Riding, Travel, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

