The Case Against Drugs

I was pretty stoned yesterday. I took my pain killers on an empty stomach, (f you don’t count coffee).   That probably explains the munchies I experienced and my ensuing industry in setting out to cook Red Cabbage and Bread and Butter Pudding.

Both came out quite well. However it was evening by the time the latter was almost done and I had to take a further dose of painkillers. Before very long I was feeling a bit squiffy.  I wanted nothing more to go and lay down, but I had to wait until the cooking was finished, because I knew that otherwise I would sleep through the oven timer’s bell.  Once the pudding was cooked, I had to try it of course and I must modestly state that it was the best B&B pudding I ever had.

I then decided it was too hot to refrigerate, and for some reason unfathomable now that I am in a more sober and rational state of mind,  I decided to put the lid on it and put it back in the oven to cool off.  I then retired and slept until 0130 at which time I awoke in some discomfort and in need of further analgesia.  In the kitchen as I washed the pills down with blackcurrant juice, I noticed heat from the oven. I had neglected to turn it off.

Ah well.  As my mother used to say; “When it’s brown it’s done, when it’s black, it’s buggered.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Cookery, Drugs, fires and disasters, Food and drink, Health and wellness, Hobbies, Humour, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, Nightmares, Philosophy, quandaries and Dilemmas, torn muscles and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to The Case Against Drugs

  1. Pingback: Spiced Apple Bread and Butter Pudding | Comfort Cookery

  2. Damn fine waste of a good BB pudding!

    Like

Please comment!

