Hangin’

There must be something about holidays.  Last time I had a break, riding north with Dave, I injured a knee on the first day and spent most of the trip nursing it.  This time, a week before my trip East, I did something to my shoulder and paralysed myself.  That was bad enough, but the positive part was that it had not hurt.  That ended on the flight over. perhaps it is healing but now it hurts like hell and I have had to invest in some heavy duty pain control.  Luckily I can still drive.   We have spent a bit of time just hangin’, and it is really great to be with my girls again.  We have been driving around spending time together.

We have been doing a bit of sightseeing, and you can see some of the photos here

The first few days have gone quickly. today was Father’s Day and we have just had a Father’s Day breakfast at the Village Hall, where my Dad lives. Tomorrow we set off for a drive and a tour, calling in on some of the tourist traps such as Seaworld, and Currumbin on the way to and from my old friend Kate’s place outback of Brisbane.  I have not seen Kate for many years.  It is her birthday on the weekend.  We shall stay there for a bit but we must be back in Ballina for Quiz night o Wednesday.  We won last Wednesday of course.  On Friday we go our separate ways again, me back to Western oz, and the girls back to the shaking land of the long white cloud.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, disability, Family, Health and wellness, History, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Photography, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Hangin’

  1. Kim Gallaher says:

    G’day,

    I’m trying to contact Alan Freshwater (?), regarding photos I found on Google maps of the place I grew up. It’s former name was Marribank Mission, and it’s about 20 miles outside of Katanning, Western Australia.

    The photos are excellent, and bring back many memories of my childhood and teen years; I can remember the houses I lived in (at least 4 of them are shown!), and the layout of the mission itself.

    If possible I’d like to get some copies of my old stamping grounds, as I’m now living in Queensland and would like to pass on some real history to friends and family. I’d also like to show them to my mother – she was then named Lois Gallaher, (Aunty Gallaher to the aboriginal children I was raised with – a term of endearment and respect, especially for a white woman) – now Lois Horne.

    Also, I can provide descriptions of most of the buildings shown, and recollections of how life was back then between approximately 1960 and 1976.

    Anyway, I am very interested in passing on some history to others and sharing a very real part of my life, so I sincerely hope to hear from you.

    Thanks, and best regards,
    details deleted

    Like

  2. Pilgrim33 says:

    Kate Stewart?

    Like

Please comment!

