When it affects one’s ability to ride a motorcycle, it’s serious.

This morning, before packing up the bike for a ride to Perth, I sat on the Silver Lady for few moments to get the feel of my shoulder.  Last Sunday I had ridden after the heavy lifting, with no difficulty at all.  In fact I had not even been aware I had a problem. I merely felt a little stiff which was fairly natural considering the work I had done.  Now I am not in the same condition.  This morning I felt awkward.  One should be in full control when one is riding a bike.  Perhaps I am not fit enough.  Discretion is always the better part of valour when one’s life is in the balance.  I decided that it might not be wise to ride too far until my shoulder is rehabilitated.

Damn.

Luckily my Camry is automatic.  I can drive.  Cars don’t fall over.

But now I have serious incentive for treatment.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, cars, disability, fires and disasters, Handy Hints, Health and wellness, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, Motorbikes, Motorcycling, Non-Events, Philosophy, quandaries and Dilemmas, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to When it affects one’s ability to ride a motorcycle, it’s serious.

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    So if 60 is middle age then we can expect to live to 120?
    Yeah.
    Right.

    Like

  2. So true… Getting older sometimes isn’t all it’s cut out to be… especially when the physical stuff isn’t working… You can’t be too careful… Janet worries about me and my big heavy Goldwing and wants me to convert it to a trike… At times I think she may be right and I have looked at doing it… I’m still thinking about it but I would so miss the 2 wheels…

    Like

    • Alan says:

      I agree TR. I have looked at Spyders and trikes, but there is something just a little geriatric about them at my age. Almost like a mobility scooter.

      Like

  3. Alan says:

    Middle aged.
    Like.

    Like

  4. DaveB says:

    Absolutely mate. Just when you seem to be sorting some long term issues you don’t want to stuff things by not getting it checked out. Us middle aged blokes have to keep active.

    Like

Please comment!

