Suddenly Spring

The seasons change quickly (and frequently, sometimes) here in the Great Southern.   Today was a bright, warm and sunny Saturday.  A remarkable change from the bleak chill of a few days ago.  The garden is full of birds; I counted four species this morning that have been absent for a while.  I saw the first skink of the season on one of the tree stumps when hanging out the laundry.  Last night was so warm I had my bedtime chai latte sitting at my cafe table outside the back door, something I have not done since the weather closed in months ago.  I even heard the faraway call of a pobblebonk, though there is as yet no sign of any of my own frogs coming out from their hibernation places.  I have cleaned the filter in the frog pond in readiness for their emergence, and tried to ensure that the intake to the solar-powered fountain will not suck up any spawn.

Today would have been perfect for a long ride and photographic expedition.  However I had much to do to prepare for my long awaited holiday.  I am off to Perth on Sunday and fly out to the East Coast on the red-eye at 0500 Monday.  A four hour flight.   I shall land at Gold Coast airport at about the same time as my daughters arrive there from New Zealand.  My Dad will pick us up and drive us back to Ballina, which will be our base for two weeks of dad and daughter hanging out and tourism. I have been looking forward to this for a long time.  It is two years since I last saw my girls in the flesh.

Before I leave I want to prepare the flat so that I return to a clean, tidy and organised home with clean sheets waiting on the bed.  So I had to forgo a ride today. Maybe I shall take the bike to Perth tomorrow.  I am travelling light enough, and in any case I have the new carrier to test.   If the weather stays promising that is what I shall do.

 

 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Animal Husbandry, Autobiography, birds, Family, frogs, Hobbies, Lifestyle, Motorbikes, Nature, Photography, Relationships, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Suddenly Spring

  1. DaveB says:

    Have a great trip mate. A break away is good, but time with family is so much more.

    Like

  2. Have a wonderful time! :) seeing family after a long absence certainly reminds us of what is so special about them to us! Enjoy, see you when we’re both back! :)

    Like

Please comment!

