A New Medical Problem

A plague on this ageing crap.

Last weekend I did some heavy lifting. Some spring cleaning and domestic rearrangements as part of my renewed invigoration and rekindled interest in life.  The major task was to move that white elephant of a glass display cabinet I acquired with the intention of converting to a snake vivarium.  it had been sitting in the carport for ages.  I moved it into the garage to allow room for the barbecue.  I should have asked for help because the FSM knows I am still not very fit.  I managed all by myself but the following day I was very stiff. Then something strange happened.  I figured I must have pulled a muscle or pinched a nerve or something, maybe even damaged a rotor cuff again because my left shoulder went numb and stiff.  The symptoms are very different from last time, when I damaged my right rotor cuff.  Then I suffered pain and restricted movement, but not quite like this. This time I cannot lift my left arm above waist level without using my right arm to hold it up.  Problematic when hanging out laundry. Even when typing on the laptop.  Cooking is difficult and I have to do most tasks right handed.  There is no pain, just an awkward sensation that makes me feel like a paraplegic.  I can raise my hand above my head only by supporting it with my other hand.  I can’t use my left hand to put on my glasses or to scratch my nose. I cannot brush my hair left handed and it is awkward to don a jacket or put my socks and shoes on, or to perform similar simple every day tasks.  One does not realise how one relies on a full range of movement until it is restricted.  I even wondered if I had suffered a mild stroke.  But I told myself that is just paranoia.  I should have sought medical advice, but this week I was so busy finishing off projects and fulfilling my duties before my break that I could not spare the time.  Besides, it did not hurt at all and I thought it would come right by itself.   As I sorted out everything today that I had to do before I set off I found that I was experiencing difficulty.   It seems to be getting worse.  Now there is no time before I fly.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Health and wellness, Lifestyle, Motorbikes, Nightmares, quandaries and Dilemmas and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A New Medical Problem

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    Mmm.
    At least three obvious possibilities there which I am sure you are as capable of scaring yourself with as I would be.
    You will ! have to see a doctor on arrival.
    I have a similar but much less pronounced problem with the right shoulder which I too have been treating as a rotator cuff fault,probably the supraspinatus tendon again.
    Should I get the chance to speak to the designers of these bodies there will be stern admonitions..

    Like

  2. slowenglish says:

    Hi Alan. Seems to me that a visit to the doctor would have been a good idea. I hope you will avail yourself of such a visit asap. Cheers, Rob

    Like

Please comment!

