Every day is a nice day for a ride. Some days are just nicer.

The bottlebrush tree is blossoming and attracting birds.   Around town I have noticed the first of the wildflowers blooming.  It does not feel like it yet, but despite the continued chill it seems spring is definitely on the way.

_DSC0438

Today was another cold and bleak Sunday.  Nonetheless the road was calling.  The bike demanded to be ridden.  I decided to take my Nikon camera out out along Greenhills road to see what I might see.  I wondered if the emu who lives out that way has had any more chicks.  Maybe the black cockatoos are back.  I set up the telephoto lens in case, and set off.

The sun shone brightly for a short time from a blue sky studded with clouds and I was optimistic that this might be a good photography day, but it was not long before the clouds closed up, darkened to a threatening gunmetal grey and began to drop rain.  I had only taken a few shots of wheat and Canola fields before I had to tuck the camera away from the weather.

_DSC0443

The few wild flowers I spotted on the roadside were not worth stopping for and getting the camera wet.  The emu and her family were nowhere to be seen.  Nor were the cockatoos.  The air grew even colder and rain set in hard.  Despite the triple layers protecting them from wind and rain, my knees grew cold.  It was a great day for a ride, as every day is, but by the time I got to Kojonup I decided I would probably soon be glad when I’d had enough.

_DSC0442

Instead of carrying on as I had first intended, along the Albany Highway to Robinson Road and returning through Woodanilling, I headed straight back along the Katanning-Kojonup road.    I had guessed right.  By the time I arrived home I was pleased to be there.  Though my knees, and the rest of me,  had stayed dry, I was chilled through.   I had ridden only about 100 K instead of 190, but at least I had been out of the house.

_DSC0429 _DSC0426

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, birds, Hobbies, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, Motorbikes, Motorcycling, Nature, Philosophy, Photography, Poetry, Riding, Wildlife and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Every day is a nice day for a ride. Some days are just nicer.

  1. Alan says:

    It was just one of those days. I have a stack of movies to watch, a few episodes of Dexter to catch up with but I just needed to get out.

    Like

  2. Pilgrim33 says:

    Observing other peoples mania to “get out of the house” makes me wonder if I have Hobbit ancestry.
    And not from those flighty Bagginses.

    Like

Please comment!

