Cold Knees

I could really do with some thick fluffy leg-warmers right now.  The weather has turned bitterly cold and the built in thermal detectors in my knees are signalling frantically for help.  I have to take the silver lady out on the weekend, because she has a shiny new chrome carrier and she is dead keen to show it off to the world.  She does have a vain streak.  The carrier arrived on Wednesday from the US, and was installed behind the cissy seat that very evening. Just a matter of undoing four bolts, inserting the new accessory, and re-tightening  the bolts.  With Loktite to keep them from vibrating out.   That will keep the cissy bag off the number plate. I also need to remount the number plate because it is rattling. That is because it has had a bag sitting on it to the Pilbara and back.

_DSC0421 _DSC0422It has been a funny old week.  The weather has not been conducive to comfort for an old codger.  It was two degrees below when I came home from dungeons and dragons at 2330 on Tuesday night. I was a bit congested which made breathing through my nose difficult with the Resmed nasal pillows.  Vicks helps.

The week was wet, cold and miserable and the warmest thing outside of bed is the sunny smiles of cheerful people at work.  Getting less and less of them too, sadly.  But that is another story.

Saw the GP again Thursday.  He was running late, and though my appointment was for 1645 I did not get in to see him until 1810.  I actually dozed in the waiting room.  The first few minutes I sat quietly while he read aloud the report from Hayley at the sleep clinic. It was all good news.  I responded well to treatment.  Already told you that.  Hayley had finished the report off with a nice comment: “Alan is a delight to work with…”. A polite way of saying I am a funny fecker, I expect.  I told the doc that everyone thinks I am a delight except my wife.  He looked at me sadly.  “Same here” he said.    That is depressing to hear.

He went through the last blood and urine test results, which it seems are all good.  The kidneys are still leaking protein, but not excessively, the cholesterol is down to acceptable levels, blood sugars all normal.  He took my BP: 139/85. He looked surprised.  “Whatever you are doing, keep it up”.   

He gave me a form for another blood test which I went for today. My favourite young nurse was there.  The divorced one.  Her husband had run off with someone else. The bastard.  I flirted a bit, telling her that he must be mad to leave a sweet young thing like her. (She is thirty years younger than I).  I told her that if I was just thirty years younger…

Ah well.

I must say that since I have started getting a good night’s sleep, I have been feeling a lot more frisky.   But still not willing to seek a new companion.  I really have come to terms with the benefits of being self sufficient.

I heard from Su today. Another big shake up in Wellington.  She was letting me know all was well. In just another week I shall be on my way to Ballina to see my girls.  We shall meet halfway and stay at their grandad’s.

And that is the most exciting news of all.  

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, History, Humour, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Motorbikes, Nature, News and politics, opinion, Philosophy, Relationships, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Cold Knees

  1. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist says:

    You best show us a picture of your handy work.

    Like

Please comment!

