Not Just Another Weekend.

Well it was, and it wasn’t.  In one sense this weekend was the same as usual;  housework and chores done, a little grocery shopping and a bike ride.  The difference is that the chores were done cheerfully and expediently.  I leapt out of bed early on both mornings, and got stuck straight in to what needed to be done.  Also I got much more done than I used to.  I did not need to stop for a nap, and I could tackle several tasks at once.  The kitchen and bathroom floors were mopped, the house vacuumed,  bed linen changed and washed,  the laundry hung out to dry, small maintenance tasks completed.  Dire Straits pumped on the sound system.

Later on Saturday afternoon  the weather turned chilly and threatening. I retired to my warm lounge to watch Coriolanus.  Ralph Fiennes directed and starred in this modern adaption of a Shakespeare play that I am not familiar with.  It was OK.  I still prefer Hamlet or Macbeth.

On Sunday I continued with tasks that needed doing, working down my TO DO list that has been neglected for so long due to apathy.  After lunch I turned to the Silver Lady who has been also neglected for a while.  She gets a ride often enough, but has had very little TLC lately.   I checked the oil and air , tightened a loose driving light, and cleaned and polished her until she gleamed.  I completed this important job, and turned to the next, which was to put a GoPro camera mount onto my  helmet.  I realised then that I had not thought things properly through.  I have a flip up front on the helmet which means that the visor goes back over the spot where one would mount a camera.  I shall have to rethink the plan. Fortunately Andrew turned up at about this time, and with all the important work done there was nothing to prevent us going for a ride.  Not that anything would even if the work had not all been done.  Not much will deter me from a ride, if it is on offer.  To Broomehill we rode, for coffee, and we returned the long way, via the backroads.

If there is one thing better than riding a motorcycle, it is riding a shiny newly polished one.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

