A Bad Night

Last night was the worst night I have had for a while.  It was so bad that I had no energy to get up and go to work this morning.  After sending a text to the boss to this effect, I crawled back into bed, and slept until 12. Then after a shower and a quick cup of coffee I finally went to work.

I had only stayed up until 9.40. It is not as if I had a late night of drunken debauchery.  I watched the rather disappointing pilot programme of “Under the Dome” while toddling on my treadmill at low to medium speed.  Then, in what was probably a Very Bad Move, I had a bedtime cup of chai latte and a few crackers with some of the genuine Stilton which Carl had brought back from Rockingham for me.  I suspect it may have been this that contributed to the bad night and in particular to the very vivid and disconcerting nightmares that plagued what little sleep I had.  Nightmares combining missing the bus stop and having to walk for miles back to where I needed to be, being lost in dark twisting passages that were alternately caves, classrooms and the decks of a freighter,  trying to get somewhere unattainable in a four wheel drive pushing through gravel up rapids and along convoluted mazes of organic intestines, while having frustrating conversations and interactions with people I no longer wish to know, all topped off with the evergreen nightmare situation of being in public without clothes, although I did somehow manage to cover myself with a lavalava and a crash helmet in an unexpected upturn of circumstances that left me feeling almost optimistic as I awoke.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Apnoea, Autobiography, Depression, fires and disasters, Health and wellness, Humour, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Nightmares and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A Bad Night

  1. Alan says:

    I sleep but get no rest. I am hoping the sleep test I did last Friday may reveal the cause and therefore give some hope of treatment. If it is sleep apnoea as suspected then I can wear a mask until I get my weight down. That is probably the real cause. Comfort food. A sure sign of depression. I have steadily gained weight since I gave up smoking. I am now 30 Kg heavier than when I went to Fiji – and I was overweight then.

    Like

  2. Pilgrim33 says:

    The book of Under the dome was not bad but far from his best.
    That’s a worry re not able to get up.
    Do you know why you’re so unhappy?
    Can’t be chemical if you’re still on the meds.?
    THe dreams seem to follow a standard pattern-lost,unable to do what you desperately know needs to be done,abandonment,powerlessness -yup-we all have those.
    Not that that helps but at least we know why..
    Call any night.

    Like

  3. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist says:

    “Lavalava and a crash helmet”, hahahahah!

    Liked by 1 person

Please comment!

