Planning a Ride

If  I am riding alone, I tend to just set off and explore.  I may have a general idea of the direction in which I wish to head, or I may have a road in mind that I would like to follow.  Sometimes I just set out with no plan at all.  There is a lot of fun in that.  There can also be some risk.  A case in point being the time I hit a log, lost my gear lever and had to limp home in second, after using pliers to get it into gear.   But I guess that is what cell phones are for, except that there are vast areas out there with no coverage.  I was discussing this the other day with my young friend Andrew.  We concluded that there is probably a good case for carrying an EPIRB (Emergency Position Indicating Radio Beacon).  Mostly used at sea, there is very sound logic for having one with you in outback Australia.  I already always carry a first aid kit, extra warm layers,  wet weather gear, a small stock of emergency food and water.  Maybe  it would make sense to have an EPIRB.  Any opinions out there?

Riding with someone else provides a little insurance against a lonely slow death under a tree or down a bank somewhere out the back of beyond.  It makes a lot of sense to at least have some idea of where you are going and the likely road conditions.  Since my little foray onto the Holland Track, I have been quite interested in getting an idea of the condition of the road I will be travelling, before setting out.  If I am taking Brenton and Andrew along, I need to know whether the road is sealed.  They are not too keen on gravel roads.

When I was planning the ride north with David, I found the street view facility to be really useful.  Dropping the little Google man onto a road enabled you to see what kind of road surface was there, as well as letting you get an idea of the country around about.

I have been up to Porongorup from the Chester Pass end.  I had breakfast there one morning on my way back from somewhere.  The road was a pleasantly winding country road and I would like to explore the rest of it.  In checking it out, I discovered an alternative way back that looks fun.  So here is my next full day ride.  I hope Brenton and Andrew will join me  on it.   

Photo

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Climate, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, Motorbikes, Motorcycling, Philosophy, Riding, Travel, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Planning a Ride

  1. Alan says:

    As a diver, I was taught that you should only dive with a buddy. Over the years I learned that buddies are often more of a liability than a benefit, and eventually, I became a solitary diver whenever I could not go out with trusted companions. Biking can be a bit similar. It is good to have a companion, as long as one does not have to constantly shepherd them. I was an only child in the early and most formative years of my character, so I have always had an independent, self reliant streak. I have, over the years, got myself into some severe and sometimes life-threatening situations (often deliberately) when diving, surfing, fishing, 4 wheel driving or climbing, and always I managed to stay calm enough to get out of them. So far.

    Like

  2. Good post and points. I’ve thought about getting a “Spot” because the reasons you mentioned but so far I always have someone riding with me when in remote areas and it hasn’t been a pressing issue. There is always the possibility of going off the road in a populated area and ending up in the weeds and no one finding for days and weeks… That has happened… I’m still thinking about it…

    Like

Please comment!

