On the One Hand, and on The Other

On the one hand:

Obese – 30% heavier than when I was in Fiji.  Not Good.  – Doing something about it but not having a great deal of success!

Arthritic – overcoming it

Not Very Fit – Doing something about it

Kidney Disease  awaiting treatment

Sleep Apnoea awaiting treatment

Depression – pretty much on top of it.  At least I am pretty well reconciled to the way things are.  Ready to come off the pills? 

On the other hand -NOT diabetic (That is a relief).

More importantly – still capable of riding a motorcycle.

Checkmate.  

Take your place on the Great Mandela

As it moves through your brief moment of time…

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Apnoea, Autobiography, Depression, Diabetes, Health and wellness, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, Motorbikes, Motorcycling, opinion, Philosophy, Riding, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to On the One Hand, and on The Other

  1. Alan says:

    I always feel gratified when someone comments on one of my more “personal” entries. Thanks TR! I set out as the disclaimer above right says, writing this to my future self, but I really appreciate it when others join the conversation. I got a lot of support and encouragement from your contribution… I am looking into a dietary paradigm shift right now, since the last one did not work out.
    Cheers!

    Like

  2. Alan says:

    Laughs, and sez “Yeah Right”. Then looks interested….

    Like

  3. Taking charge of your health is never easy. I ended up doing it by default. Long story short. My wife decided to do the “Whole 30” diet with a friend. I would have never done it but to make it easier on Janet (Not cooking something for me and something else for her) I did it too since it was just for 30 days. That was 7 months ago. We learned a lot and felt so much better. The diet is not to lose weight but to find out if you have any problems with certain foods. We both lost 20 pounds. We feel so much better we are eating a modified Paleo diet based on what we learned from the “Whole 30”. I now have a whole different outlook on aging… Not for everyone but worth looking into. If someone would have told me I would be saying these things 7 months ago I would have laughed… and said Yea, right…

    Like

  4. Pilgrim33 says:

    Obese – 30% heavier than when I was in Fiji. Not Good. – Doing something about it but not having a great deal of success!

    That’s….worrying.

    Arthritic – overcoming it

    Good.

    Not Very Fit – Doing something about it

    I’m not.
    Dr. Denyer (now retired) once quipped that the effort to get fit would probably kill me.

    Kidney Disease awaiting treatment

    Not good.

    Sleep Apnoea awaiting treatment

    Goes with the weight and age.

    Depression – pretty much on top of it. At least I am pretty well reconciled to the way things are. Ready to come off the pills?

    Mmmm.
    I think staying on the pills is probably safer.

    On the other hand -NOT diabetic (That is a relief).

    A great relief to us all.

    More importantly – still capable of riding a motorcycle.

    Yeah,right.

    Checkmate.

    Like

Please comment!

