Autumn

I was in Perth this time last week, staying in a motel on the Eastern Highway, in anticipation of attending a workshop the next day at the State Library, on the subject of writing public health action plans, something all local governments will be expected to do under the new public health bill currently being considered for enactment.  This is of consequence only because the motel was located right beside a liquor store at which I found one of my favourite drinks, Magner’s Cider.  I also picked up a four pack of Monteith’s  Crushed Pear cider, a bottle of which I am sipping as I type.  The Magners was magnificent, and I drank two bottles so I could sleep that night.  I have to say the Monteith’s is rather disappointing.

Cider is one of my favourite drinks, and I like it best of all in the Autumn, and also at Christmas time.  This is simply because it reminds me of those times in the Stewart Household, from whose orchard came the crisp delicious apples that Guthrie made into crisp delicious cider.

Another thing I like about autumn, is riding the bike.  On a clear, bright autumn day, so long as one has thermals on, one can ride all day.  Last Saturday Brenton, Andrew and I rode down through Cranbrook, across Plantaganet to Rocky Gully, and back through Kojonup.  A 320 K ride of which almost a third was through forest.  I love riding through forest. The light and the temperature at this time of year makes everything clear and crisp, like cider.  The sunlight flashes light and shadows as you ride through the trees . The scent of the air changes again, from the pungent herbal/eucalypt scent of summer to a more subdued and earthy autumnal version occasionally interlaced with smoke from stubble fires as farmers prepare and sow their fields for the next crop of wheat or rape.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Art, Climate, Depression, Food and drink, Health and wellness, Hobbies, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, Motorbikes, Motorcycling, Music, Nature, Non-Events, opinion, Riding, Travel, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Autumn

  1. Yep and the perry was pretty awful too.

    Like

  2. Pilgrim33 says:

    I haven’t tried the perry but the Monteiths apple cider was really bad.

    Like

Please comment!

