Menagerie

A kitten has taken to coming around my place at night.  It is very friendly, but I am doing nothing to encourage it.  I do not approve of cats as pets any more due to the havoc they wreak on native wildlife.  I have considered sending it home with duct tape around it’s neck with a dotted line drawn on it and a memo saying “will cut here if not kept in at night”.

 

Not that I really would of course.

I was worried at first that she might be dangerous to my frogs, but having observed her ineptness at hunting I conclude they are safe enough.

A  white Muscovy duck has taken up residence in my garden.  She seems content to sit in the corner under the apricot tree.  I feed her, and provided her with water.  I have named her Fang.  I have told the Shire Environmental Health Officer about her, and he agrees with me that technically, since she is free to leave at any time, I am not “keeping” poultry, and therefore need not worry about compliance with the Local Laws on the subject.  It is good to have a reasonable EHO.

 

 

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Menagerie

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    1) Re cat.
    I don’t know about Aussi but here that would have the cops on your doorstep.
    2)That is one FAT duck.
    3) It would be better if I knew how to use italics rather than capitals in comments.

    Like

    • Alan says:

      1) Cats out at night are fair game in Oz. All cats must be kept in. New laws going thru will require them to be chipped.
      2 She’s cuddly
      3 I can’t either in the comments box.

      Like

      • Pilgrim33 says:

        Fascist cat haters.
        Anyone who thinks birds and lizards are more important than cats is accursed of Bast and will be batted around like a ball of wool for all eternity.

        Like

Please comment!

