Two Years

The 23rd of March marked the second anniversary of my arrival in Katanning.

The 29th of March marked two years since moving into my little flat.

What have been my achievements?  First and foremost I have made some friends.  I have people I can talk to.  A year ago I was still wondering if that would happen.  Still,  these things take time.   No hurry eh?

Thanks to the marvels of modern fabrics, work uniforms and an otherwise slovenly attitude, I have not lifted a clothes iron for two years. The ironing board is a handy surface for storing stuff.

I have lost three pairs of glasses, (possibly four now)  and two cellphones (possibly three). I must have another look around before I confirm the tally.

I have bought and sold one motorcycle, I bought a car and a second bike.

I have ridden 6,500 km across Australia on the first bike, and 4,500 km up and down the State on the second.

I have raised frogs from tadpoles. In my garden I have possums and reptiles.

I have remained celibate and unattached.  I see no changes likely in that department.  My knees are holding up, my kidneys are leaking and I am probably diabetic.  We shall know more soon.

I have had some cheek-splittingly smiley days when the whole world is my Happy Place, and I have had many days of darkness.  It still takes very little to bring a tear to my eye.

I have missed the company of my children more than I can say.  That alone is enough to bring a tear to my eye.

I recognised that I have depression and started taking the pills.  They don’t make it go away, but they enable me to see the humour in life’s little ironies.

I have forgiven those who trespassed against me, and I ask forgiveness for any trespassing I may inadvertently have done.  If I contributed in any way to your unhappiness,  I am truly penitent.

I have consolidated my philosophy and beliefs, and recognised that I am a firm, you might almost say devout, atheist and in fact have been since the Marist Brothers and Fathers mangled my education.  It took 45 years to appreciate it, and develop the courage to say so.  It is very liberating, because now, I know that other than my friends and family there is no one I need to thank, no one with whom I must plead, and no one I can blame.

Shit happens.

That is my philosophy:  Shit Happens.  Sometimes it is Good Shit, sometimes Bad Shit.  But the point to remember is that it is all just Random Shit.    The only way not to drown in it is to just keep swimming – with the additional forlorn hope that if you have been  decent enough, kind and caring enough, when you are really deeply in it, you can entertain the possibility perhaps that there will be someone who will in turn care enough to take pity and help you out a little.  Just don’t count on it.

Be Prepared.

Wow.  The 23rd of March marked the second anniversary of my arrival in Katanning.  Sometimes one just does not know where a sentence may lead.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Communication and language, complaints rorts and rip=offs, Death, Depression, Drama, Entertainment, Family, fires and disasters, Food and drink, Health and wellness, History, Humour, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, Motorbikes, Motorcycling, Pastafarianism, Philosophy, Photography, Political Correctness, Relationships, Religion and Superstition, Riding, Science, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Two Years

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    And……the long form.

    Two Years
    Posted on April 4, 2013 by Alan

    The 23rd of March marked the second anniversary of my arrival in Katanning.

    WOW,that long.

    The 29th of March marked two years since moving into my little flat.

    What have been my achievements? First and foremost I have made some friends. I have people I can talk to. A year ago I was still wondering if that would happen. Still, these things take time. No hurry eh?

    Thanks to the marvels of modern fabrics, work uniforms and an otherwise slovenly attitude, I have not lifted a clothes iron for two years. The ironing board is a handy surface for storing stuff.

    Same here Except for ironing the artificial green baize for re-covering the tea trolly shelves. Now it’s a bedside table.

    I have lost three pairs of glasses, (possibly four now) and two cellphones (possibly three). I must have another look around before I confirm the tally.

    I have bought and sold one motorcycle, I bought a car and a second bike.

    I have ridden 6,500 km across Australia on the first bike, and 4,500 km up and down the State on the second.

    Wow again.

    I have raised frogs from tadpoles. In my garden I have possums and reptiles.

    We shoot the possums and the reptiles are mostly in the House of Representatives.

    I have remained celibate and unattached. I see no changes likely in that department. My knees are holding up, my kidneys are leaking and I am probably diabetic. We shall know more soon.

    Celibate is bad.
    Use it or lose it.(Or functionality anyway.)

    I have had some cheek-splittingly smiley days when the whole world is my Happy Place, and I have had many days of darkness. It still takes very little to bring a tear to my eye.

    That’s when you need to talk to people on totally unrelated topics.

    I have missed the company of my children more than I can say. That alone is enough to bring a tear to my eye.

    And another excellent reason to return to New Zealand when possible.
    No?
    .Of course I don’t have any ulterior motive in writing that.
    How could you think such a thing?

    I recognized that I have depression and started taking the pills. They don’t make it go away, but they enable me to see the humour in life’s little ironies.

    My doctor refused several times to issue medication.
    I’m not sure if she was right or not.
    A friend helped me through some of the worst times.
    Mum helped mostly until the last few years when it went backwards.

    I have forgiven those who trespassed against me, and I ask forgiveness for any trespassing I may inadvertently have done. If I contributed in any way to your unhappiness, I am truly penitent.

    I suspect that comes with age.
    Now that I am old I see why I pissed off those who were old when I was not.
    I have much more sympathy for Charles nowadays.

    I have consolidated my philosophy and beliefs, and recognised that I am a firm, you might almost say devout, atheist and in fact have been since the Marist Brothers and Fathers mangled my education. It took 45 years to appreciate it, and develop the courage to say so. It is very liberating, because now, I know that other than my friends and family there is no one I need to thank, no one with whom I must plead, and no one I can blame.

    I think that there is an inbuilt need for religion or something very like it in almost all humans.
    I just don’t like the established churches.
    A lot.

    Shit happens.

    That is my philosophy: Shit Happens. Sometimes it is Good Shit, sometimes Bad Shit. But the point to remember is that it is all just Random Shit. The only way not to drown in it is to just keep swimming – with the additional forlorn hope that if you have been decent enough, kind and caring enough, when you are really deeply in it, you can entertain the possibility perhaps that there will be someone who will in turn care enough to take pity and help you out a little. Just don’t count on it.

    Frankly the thought that the universe is merely random terrifies me.
    I do not see any need to postulate a god but maybe a really good engineering team…
    If there is no reason for our existence then there is no reason to continue it.

    Be Prepared.

    Wow. The 23rd of March marked the second anniversary of my arrival in Katanning. Sometimes one just does not know where a sentence may lead.

    The Road goes ever on and on,out from the door where it began.

    Like

  2. Pilgrim33 says:

    That seems like a pretty good summary.
    Good luck for the next two years.

    Like

  3. dayvebutler says:

    “For myself, I like a universe that, includes much that is unknown and, at the same time, much that is knowable. A universe in which everything is known would be static and dull, as boring as the heaven of some weak-minded theologians. A universe that is unknowable is no fit place for a thinking being. The ideal universe for us is one very much like the universe we inhabit. And I would guess that this is not really much of a coincidence.”. CARL SAGAN.
    “And so we continue on trying to understand as much as possible, but knowing there is always plenty out there to learn, challenge us and keep us wanting to stay alive.” DAVE BUTLER.

    Bloody Hell two years! – Overall do you feel better for having lived them?

    Like

Please comment!

