And Now for the More I Promised Later, Earlier On.

Last Tuesday night I played my first ever game of Dungeons and Dragons.  It seems I am slowly losing my grip on life and sinking gradually ever deeper into Geekdom.

I was a crystalline bowman bard in a travelling band, in a village with a haunted tannery, a missing princess and a host of weird things in the surrounding lands.  We were doing odd jobs ridding the village of various pesty creatures, and looking for a big score like someone to rescue, or a caravan to protect.  Or something like that.  The Dungeon Master is an affable chap by the name of Steve.  He and the other players are all teachers.  I am one of a couple of noobs to the game.  I had a good time, and I think I could get into this. Watch this space…

One of the players is Rrahim, a tall chap who towers over me, (and who does not look at all like a Rrahim) who just happens to be looking for a larger motorcycle than the Honda 250 twin he is riding.  He is as-yet still limited in the capacity of bike he is permitted to ride.  The maximum for him for the next year or two just happens to be 650cc.  Guess what? I just happen to have a 650 Yamaha XVS V Star for sale.

On Saturday Rrahim came and checked her out.  After a ride he decided the seat was just a little too low.  So had I as it happens, just after I bought her.   I produced the Airhawk cushion with which I had rectified the problem and suggested he try again.  He did so.  Perfect.  Price discussed and agreed to, we shall complete the formalities during the week. 

Happy buyer, happy vendor.  The way life should be.

 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Dungeons and Dragons, Games, Hobbies, Motorbikes, Motorcycling and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to And Now for the More I Promised Later, Earlier On.

  1. DaveB says:

    Well done with the bike, Although I’m not sure you kept the nicest bike. She was a lovely lady to ride. (pardon the double entendre).

    Like

  2. Alan says:

    I think I am past getting lucky with girls, and probably do not even have much chance with elderly ladies any more. I remember when the first computer games came out and I found myself in a swamp surrounded by chiggers. There was a path to the east and a tree to the north. I lost myself in that world but somehow missed the whole D&D phenomenon. No better time than now to catch up I guess.

    Like

  3. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist says:

    My experience of playing Dungeons and Dragons never resulted in motorcycle sales, but then I guess none of us had a licence back then. It also never resulted in any of us getting lucky with girls, or even talking to girls. It truly was a fantasy world!

    Like

Please comment!

