SitRep Updates: Frogs, Fires, Plans & Phobias

At lunchtime today I found Veala sitting on the side of a bucket, no doubt contemplating whether to leap in.  At least I think it is her.  No longer golden green, she is distinctly similar to the adult motorbike frogs.  But she is tiny.

She let me pick her up and photograph her without any sign of panic.  When I returned her to the pondside she sat and posed some more for me before leaping in.

_DSC0010 aDSC0006 _DSC0001 _DSC0002Interestingly, she may not be the only froglet in the pond after all.  I am sure I caught another glimpse of a yellow green movement in the corner.  Which may be another, or the same one I saw before, meaning Veala in the photos is another one entirely.

Then in the evening, as I changed the orlon staple I am using as filter media around the solar pump, I caught a flash of movement in the small square (ex crisper bin on the left in the top picture) twenty litre pond I am using to propagate aquarium weeds.  Closer examination revealed a chubby wee tadpole.  Since I am sure tadpoles cannot jump there is only one way this little bugger could have transferred over from the big pond.  It must have been caught by one of the big frogs and as its captor climbed out of the pond ready to swallow it, it must have wriggled free and dropped into the lower, smaller pool.  If that is the case, it was lucky indeed that the frog which caught it climbed out in just the right place, or it would have fallen onto a flowerpot or onto the ground, and been easily retrieved, or died anyway.  Hopefully it will be more wary now that it has had a close encounter with froggy death.  I transferred it back to the pond, where I hope it will have a better chance of surviving.

Cindy is away in Manjimup, helping with firefighting coordination on the fires down that way.  Smoke is drifting across the whole of the Great southern and even over Perth at present.  The latest alerts and warnings on the DFES page are

Thursday 14 February 2013 – 9:12 PM
Bushfire WATCH AND ACTS have been issued for people: • in the Kin Kin area bounded by Muir Highway, Wheatley Coast Road, Sutton Road, Beard Road, and Deeside Road, 25km east of Manjimup in the Shire of Manjimup. The townsite of Quinninup is not under threat. • near Andrew State Forest near the intersection of Austin and Drew Roads 20km south-east of Nannup in the Shire of Nannup • near Cardac State Forest near the intersection of Cardac and Dwyer roads 7km south-east of Manjimup in the Shire of Manjimup
Fire
Thursday 14 February 2013 – 8:35 PM
A bushfire WATCH AND ACT remains in place for people south of Hay Road, west of South Western Highway, north of Forrest Park Avenue, west of Maranup Ford Road, north of the Dalgarup plantation and east of Lewana Road and Buffa Road and south of the Nannup-Balingup Road in the Shires of Donnybrook-Balingup, Bridgetown-Greenbushes and Nannup.
Fire
Thursday 14 February 2013 – 2:33 PM
An ALL CLEAR has been issued for a fire that was burning in the Yourdamung area in Lane Poole Conservation Reserve 17 kilometres north-east of Collie in the Shire of Collie.

Why didn’t anyone tell me FESA has changed to DFES?

Roy came around this evening to enlighten me on the updated plans for the weekend ride. I have taken an RDO for tomorrow, so once I have been to the lab in the morning for my tests, we can set out for Pinjarra before lunch.  Roy wants to install a lowering kit on his Harley.  Apparently this entails changing the suspension and substituting shorter, harder shocks.  A quick job apparently.  In any case he is planning to do it tomorrow at a friends place in Pinjarra, where we shall gather and swag it overnight, ready to ride for Windy Harbour Saturday morning.  It looks as if we shall have to go via Busselton, to avoid the fires between Bridgetown and Manjimup.

A few riders from the last trip have pulled out, due to matters such as birthdays, and ill wives, or even less acceptable excuses,  but I am going because Roy is going, despite Saturday being his birthday too.  His 54th.  Surprise. I thought he was younger, even though I knew he is a grandfather.  Roy is a big lad.  Bearded and tattooed, he towers over me, and is just the sort of person you want on your side in a fight.  Not that I purpose to get into anything like that.   Anyway, I have to be very careful not to upset him with his pet phobia, because it just happens to be one of my enthusiasms.  Frogs.  Would you believe it?  For some reason lost in the mists of youth, Roy is morbidly afraid of frogs.  It seems strange, but that is the thing about phobias.  They are irrational, but very real.  I would never mock anyone with a phobia, but I feel a more than a little sorry that Roy cannot enjoy the experience of having a tiny green living jewel of pure Amphibia sitting in the palm of his hand.

How sad is that?

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Camping, Climate, Entertainment, Family, fires and disasters, frogs, Handy Hints, Health and wellness, Hobbies, Humour, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, Motorcycling, Movies, Nature, Photography, Political Correctness, Swag, Travel, Weather and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to SitRep Updates: Frogs, Fires, Plans & Phobias

  1. Alan says:

    Cheers Dave! I miss the daily commute by bike. It is all very well to ride round in circles on the weekend, but bikes are made for going places. My love to Barbs and have a great weekend the both of you.

    Like

  2. dayvebutler says:

    Have a great ride mate. I’m heading off to Cooks Beach for the weekend(in the car). I have lovely blond, dog, booze,food and boogie board to carry. Still loving my bike, running sweet, riding every day to work so getting 60Ks in the saddle each day. Its a very pleasant ride to work, must do a movie to show and tell.
    Any way, you take care
    cheers
    Dave

    Like

Please comment!

