Ravelled Sleeve

A strange day today. I awoke at 6am and rose to make coffee.  I fell asleep waiting for the kettle to boil, awaking with a jerk as I almost fell off the chair.  I took the coffee to drink al fresco and fell asleep at my little cafe table.  On awakening I downed the cooling coffee and felt myself drifting off again. I decided that if I was going to do that I may as well go back to bed.  I did. I slept.  From faraway I heard the phone ring several times, and struggled to rise and answer it.  Somehow I never made it.  At some stage at last, after who knows how many missed calls, I actually got out of bed and to the phone in time to speak to Carl.   I don’t recall the conversation at all.  Then back to bed.  At 1630 I awoke again, and though desperate to return to sleep, hunger drove me out to the kitchen for another coffee and an assessment of what was available to eat.  I had started some chicken thighs marinating yesterday, so despite wanting to get my head back onto a pillow, I knocked up a quick Malayan-style curry with potato and peas in a coconut cream sauce with Basmati rice.  It was ready by about 1800, and I had eaten by 1820.  Around 1930 I awakened with a jerk again, and decided that once I had cleaned up the kitchen, washed the dishes and put the leftovers away, I should go to bed.  I did not clean the bike or do anything else useful all day.  Was today a wasted day or one put to very good use?

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life! and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ravelled Sleeve

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    Odd.
    You must need it.

    Like

Please comment!

