Noble Failure

I returned around midnight from Rachael’s and Kane’s housewarming party which was combined with Rachael’s birthday. She celebrated reaching a certain age.  Not that she looks it at all.

Because it was a special occasion, and because I am broke, I was at a loss at first for an appropriate housewarming/birthday gift.  I settled at last on something I already had, that I felt Rachael would like; my statue of Kwan Yin (or Quanyin) which I have kept since 1975.  For the superstitious, Kwan Yin is said to bring peace and harmony to a household.  I hope she does.  Third time lucky. Third time is the charm.  The rule of three.  Not that those two seem to need any outside semi-divine interference.  Long life to them both.

It was a good party. Good people, good conversation, good food.  Roy and Sue were there and reminded me that next weekend is the Windy Harbour ride.  I am looking forward to that.

I remained sober and ferried a few folk home that had not done so.  Then at pumpkin hour I headed home myself.

On arrival, my first thought was that the pond seemed unnaturally still and quiet.  No little swirls in the floating weed and no sudden splashes.  (The fountain of course does not operate at night). I fetched my tactical torch and began an intensive survey and census.  Plenty of little Gambusia,  but only ONE (count:1) remaining tadpole.  It was as I feared.  In a matter of hours or days at the most, probably, this last tadpole will go the way of the others.  I mourned in particular the loss of the little froglet who had been almost ready to emerge.  I had really been looking forward to having a wee host of little froggy minions.

As if by magic, Fluffy appeared on the poolside as I was conducting my search.  She seemed quite interested to learn there was a tadpole left.  No doubt she thought she and her mates Eric and Gollum had already cleaned them all out.   She took up the readiness posture of a predatory frog and settled down to wait for something to come by.  I nudged her onto my hand and held her up for a face to face chat.  One last appeal to her finer instincts.  She stared back impassively, with an increasingly obstinate faraway look in her eyes.  I knew I was wasting my time, and had been from the moment I had tried in the first place to rescue the 50 or so tadpoles from a drying stream.  I put her down again, and she resumed her stance, awaiting a movement in the water below.

That pretty much sums up the cosmic significance of everything we try to achieve. All we really have in the end is whatever amusement we can get out of the ride.  And that is the philosophical thought of the day.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Cookery, dancing, Death, Depression, Entertainment, Food and drink, frogs, Health and wellness, Humour, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, Motorcycling, Nature, Non-Events, Philosophy, Relationships, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

