Knock the Polish Off and Other Sayings

Dropped off the Silver Lady this morning, and picked her up this afternoon with a nice new tyre on the front.  Pep charged me $100 just to fit the tyre, which was already paid for.  Ouch.

Anyway, she has a nice deep tread again.  Metzler Marathon as usual.  Nice hard wearing tyre.  I took her out this evening for a good spin around the block, up some gravel roads, and on the way home a few practice emergency stops to knock the polish off it, as we bikers say.

The front tyre is frequently the component that determines whether you live or die, possibly second only to the Nut holding the handlebars. Be prepared.

The Camry went in for a new front passenger door window this morning. It was ready to pick up by 5 but I was not in a hurry to collect it.  I am still waiting to hear back from the insurance company.  I miss good old State Insurance in NZ.  No mucking about.  The good news is that my other binoculars were in the work car. As far as I can tell I lost nothing of any consequence.  The rubber snake and atlas are still on the rear window shelf, the inverter, jumper cables and tools are still in the boot.

Still on the subject of vehicles, the new work car, a Mitsubishi, is due for its first service, which must be carried out by the dealer. There is no dealer shop closer than Albany.

Long time readers may recall that I had to buy the Camry because I only have commuter use of the Shire car.  In other words when not using it for work I can only drive it between the office and home.  In my first week here, when I called in to Woolworths on the way home for my groceries, I was observed, and the following day firmly informed that commuter use did not extend to shopping on the way home.  The bike was not suitable for hauling a load of groceries on, and it is morally wrong to bring a shopping trolley home, so I bought a car, with the added justification that my kids might come to visit, and I would need it to pick them up from Perth.  All in all, owning the Camry has been more of a liability than a benefit, other than its usefulness to cart stuff home from the shops.

So it was amusing to learn this afternoon that the Mitsubishi must go to Albany for service.  Michelle quite rightly pointed out that it was hard to justify a day trip for me to Albany on full pay just for a vehicle service.  The ideal answer is to find someone who has a day’s work or a meeting to attend down there, who can drop off and pick up the car. Not a lot of likelihood – a bit of a dilemma, really.

The suggestion came down from on high that maybe I would like to apply for permission to have private use of the car  for a Saturday or one of my RDOs; drive it to Albany, find something to do there while the car was serviced, and bring it back.  

Can you hear the laughter?

I have a car of my own and two motorcycles.  Respectfully, why the feck would I want to borrow a Shire vehicle to take to Albany in order to do the Shire a favour?

Swings and Roundabouts.   Swings and Roundabouts.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Knock the Polish Off and Other Sayings

  1. Pingback: More Good News/Bad News and a History Lesson | Flitting Amongst The Swanplants

  2. dayvebutler says:

    The man obviously has you by the short and curlies! That’s horrendous charge – cheaper in Albany?

    Like

  3. Alan says:

    That was fitting only David. I had already paid for the tyre when I replaced the rear one. Pep was keeping it until I had worn the old one down a bit more. The problem is that Pep is the only game in town. I may have to buy myself a bike lift.

    Like

  4. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist says:

    Hope that was for the tyre and fitting, not just the fitting!!!

    Like

  5. Pilgrim33 says:

    “Would you please use a day of your unpaid time to save us money?”
    Yeah,right.
    Not surprising but disappointing attitude.
    I wonder if they would expect you to pay for the fuel.

    Like

Please comment!

