Side Roads

Riding the back roads of the Great Southern, I constantly spot new roads to explore, and if I don’t turn on to them straight away, I make a mental note of them for future rides.  As I explore, I soon lose my orientation on the twists and turns or when I turn into even more newly-discovered secondary side roads.   Often I find myself far away from where I thought I might be.  Or I suddenly arrive in some familiar place from a completely unexpected direction.  In such cases I have found in reverse where a road goes that I had previously noted for exploration.

I don’t like to listen to music when I am riding.  I have tried it, but it makes me uncomfortable.   The noise-cancelling earphones blot out most of the wind and engine noise, which one would think is a good thing, but it leaves me feeling isolated.  It does not seem to be much of a safety risk.  Whether or not I am using earphones, I found that cars surprised me when coming up from behind so I have learned to regularly check my mirrors.   I sing and talk to myself while riding of course, but ultimately on any ride of any length, one goes silent and introspective.  That is when I discover the side roads are still there that I should not go down.  I know what lies at the end of them. These are the roads in my head.  They lead to a place I do not want to visit.

Shoulda Street. Maybe Avenue, Regret Road, Mightovbeen Lane, Whatif Highway, Y Intersection.  Perhaps Place.  I sometimes find myself well along these tracks before I catch myself and remind myself I am not going there.

I need new metaphorical roads to explore as well as real ones.

I hereby resolve to find some.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
Aside | This entry was posted in Autobiography, Communication and language, Depression, Health and wellness, Hobbies, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Motorcycling, Riding and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to Side Roads

  1. Now up to 8703 unique visitors.

    Very few comments though. Interestingly the number jumped by well over a hundred when I posted my piece about the late Curt H.

    Like

  2. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist says:

    The Road goes ever on and on
    Down from the door where it began.
    Now far ahead the Road has gone,
    And I must follow, if I can,
    Pursuing it with eager feet,
    Until it joins some larger way
    Where many paths and errands meet.
    And whither then? I cannot say.
    J.R.R. Tolkien

    Like

  3. Pilgrim33 says:

    Could-have-been-worse Close. There but for chance Pl. What would others have done without me Boulevard.

    Like

Please comment!

