Real Biking Weekend Coming Up

This weekend I will stay at Sue’s and Roy’s place on Friday night for a gathering before a two  or three day motorcycle ride.  I have been invited by Roy to join an annual ride he and his mates have been doing for many years.  I have never met or ridden with any of them so it will be a new experience.  We are heading somewhere I have never heard of  (Windy Harbour) and then on to somewhere else I have never been and the name of which I have forgotten.  So I shall be swagging for two or three nights and riding for two or three days.  Monday is an RDO.  Gotta love these RDOs!

About 150 riders are gathering from all over.  Many of them are Harley riders of course but they are not snobs and have a few amongst them on bikes of other marque.  This is an invitation only ride and it is an honour to be invited.  I guess I must have been favourably assessed.  I have never ridden in a big group before, except that time long ago when all the bike-riding students at Auckland University rode through the toll booths on the Harbour Bridge with ten-dollar notes to pay the 5 cent toll.   Of course in those days it was all mostly 90 to 150 cc student transport, not real bikes.

I am looking forward to this.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Camping, Entertainment, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, Motorcycling, Non-Events, Organizations, Philosophy, Relationships, Riding, Swag, tall tales, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

