MCAS, A good bunch to deal with.

When I was in Sidney, at the start of the epic ride that took us over six thousand km around the south  coast of this amazing island continent, with the others I visited MCAS, the Motor Cycle  Accessories Supermarket.  I bought new boots, gloves and a set of higway pegs for the long ride.

Since then I have been receiving their email newsletter offers, and when a sale came on a month or so ago, I saw the chance to replenish the visors for my lids.  Scratches  inevitably appear as if by magic, even when one does not drop the helmet in the sand at the Pinnacles and top visibility is a key  safety factor.  Besides, I always wanted a shiny silver visor which apart from looking cool, might make for some interesting reflection photos.

So when there was a special on, I ordered two new visors, and in due course received notification of their despatch.  I tracked the package on line but it seemed to make no  progress.

Eventually we established it was lost.  It appears that it was actually stolen from my front porch.  It should not have been left there as the package was “signature required”.

This is exactly why couriers are supposed to get a signature.   Goods I should have received exactly a month ago, I will now not get until after Christmas.  However this is not any fault of MCAS, rather of the local agent for the courier company they use.

Interestingly enough, the police were not interested in this matter, saying I should take it up with the courier company.  Be that as  it may, Kudos to MCAS for looking after the customer.

The saga follows, in reverse order:

Thank you so much Fiona

I am so sorry that this happened. Had I known you did not use Australian post, I would have given my work address. The post office here knows me and brings packages to my workplace. I hope you can claim from StarTrack. I am sure they are a good company,but maybe they should audit their contractors. Since discussing this problem with friends I have heard stories that suggest someone at AAAAAAAA and Co can be – shall we say – unreliable. If you need a statement concerning my interview with Mr WWWWWW, I am happy to oblige. Best wishes and season’s greetings!

Cheers Alan

From: MCAS Office Sent: Friday, 21 December 2012 11:53 AM To: Katanning Eho Subject: RE: ORDER 50426

Hi Alan, We apologise for this inconvenience. After talking to my boss, we are going to post you out another set of Rjays toutech/striker/dominator visors. One dark tint anti-fog and one silver iridium visor. These were sent today via AAE along with your contact number and specific instructions “must be signed by recipient on delivery” Tracking number is: Tracking number zxzxzxzxzx  https://trackandtrace.aae.com.au/ please be advised that we will endeavour to pursue this matter with AAE/startrack to seek further information in regards to the outcome of the investigation.

Regards, Fiona.

From: Katanning Eho Sent: Friday, 21 December 2012 12:48 PM To: MCAS Office Subject: RE: ORDER 50426

Hi Fiona.

I am very interested to hear that I ” had a standing order with Star Track authorising your parcel to be left unattended and without proof of delivery“. I would like to see a copy of any such authorisation. There is none. I have never had any contact with them until I enquired after my lost parcel.  Sounds like the dickhead manager I met last week at XXXXXXXXX & Co is making things up to cover his own arse. He told me he delivered the package to my address. Left it on the front porch which is also the entry to the health clinic. He may as well have left it on the footpath. He admitted signing the delivery receipt himself. His name is KWWWWWWW. I asked him why he did not leave a card, he did not reply. Once I learned that it had been delivered, I searched the property, and even went for a walk to see where a thief might have gone to open the parcel and find out what he scored. I hoped to find evidence of the wrapping, or even to find the visors, considering they are not much use to anyone else. I also enquired with the occupants of the child health clinic that shares the building.

No luck.

What next?

Alan Freshwater

From: MCAS Office Sent: Friday, 14 December 2012 10:52 AM To: Katanning Eho Subject: RE: ORDER 50426

Hi Alan, I have been on the phone with AAE this morning in regards to your consignment (U3P17246) to try and get any further information. I was advised that the investigation is still open and that there is no ETA as to when the outcome of this investigation will be made known and available to you. However, assured me that they will contact you when it is made available. All I could find out is that you as the customer had a standing order with Star Track authorising your parcel to be left unattended and without proof of delivery. Is there a chance the parcel had been hidden somewhere on the premises and may have overlooked it? Regards, Fiona.

From: Katanning Eho Sent: Thursday, 13 December 2012 7:59 PM To: MCAS Office Subject: RE: ORDER 50426

Well Fiona, I tracked it as far as xxxxx the Katanning agents for Star Track (after Star Track made no progress in tracking it) The Katanning Agent says he delivered it to my address on the 21st of November (left on the front doorstep) but signed for it himself as I was not there. I asked him why he did not leave a card, He did not answer. The parcel has clearly been stolen, though I can’t see it would be of much use to anyone. The question is -What next?

Cheers

Alan

From: MCAS Office Sent: Wednesday, 5 December 2012 9:22 AM To: Katanning Eho Subject: RE: ORDER 50426

Hi Alan, Just to confirm that the address that was entered on the consignment note for your parcel is as follows:

Alan Freshwater
Address
Katanning

Please keep me updated with the progress of the investigation and hope you receive your goods in the not too distant future. Regards Fiona.

 MCA

From: Katanning Eho Sent: Tuesday, 4 December 2012 7:18 PM To: MCAS Office Subject: RE: ORDER 50426

Looks like they lost it Fiona.  They have started an enquiry. I will get back to you when it is found (I hope!)

Cheers

Alan

From: MCAS Office Sent: Tuesday, 4 December 2012 9:56 AM To: Katanning Eho Subject: RE: ORDER 50426

Hi Alan, We can only see what you can in regards to the shipping status of your order. Perhaps you could get in touch with Australian Air Express for further information. But usually a package should take 5-7 working days to arrive. Might also be worth while checking with your local post office to see if it is there awaiting collection. Regards Fiona.

From: Katanning Eho Sent: Monday, 3 December 2012 4:40 PM To: MCAS Office Subject: RE: ORDER 50426

Hi Fiona. Do you know how long would Australian Air express usually take to WA? I see the parcel is “in Transit” but no indication of where it has got to so far. I guess a few days more waiting won’t hurt. Cheers Alan

From: Katanning Eho Sent: Wednesday, 21 November 2012 2:17 PM To: ‘MCAS Office’ Subject: RE: ORDER 50426

Cheers Fiona! Have a great day! Alan

From: MCAS Office Sent: Wednesday, 21 November 2012 1:45 PM To: Katanning Eho Subject: ORDER 50426

Hi Alan Just a quick note to let you know your order was sent 20/11/2012 via Australian Air Express.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in complaints rorts and rip=offs, Handy Hints, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Motorcycling, News and politics, Non-Events, opinion, Travel and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to MCAS, A good bunch to deal with.

  1. Alan says:

    Final outcome: The second consignment duly arrived. The Courier brought it to my workplace. Sensible chap. Kudos to MCAS. I would like to thank them for their forbearance and consideration and in particular for the prompt resending of the consignment. I trust and hope that the couriers recompense them for the lost package.

    Like

  2. Pilgrim33 says:

    Within a very few years most products and almost all mail and freight consignments will have RFID tags.
    Put in a number and that guy two streets over gets a visit from Police or an insurance agent.
    A benign use of technology which will inevitably be used for wrong.
    I predict a great demand for tag nullifiers.

    Like

Please comment!

