Les is still Miserable After All These Years

So I have seen Les Mis at last, after managing to survive such a long time without ever having seen it!  It was being performed at the Regal Theatre, Subiaco.  My friend Tim bought tickets and invited me up for the day.  I accepted with alacrity.  Yesterday morning I arose early and set off in the car at about 6am.

On the way through to Perth, I dropped in to a Bunnings Store and stocked up on some accoutrements I needed for the barbecue, including a pizza stone, which I tried out today.  Then on to collect Tim.  We drove to Subiaco, had a big brunch at Dome, then did a walk around the town, and some shopping before a couple of drinks in the bar at the Regal.  The show started at 2.

The performance was very enjoyable, and my only complaints were concerning the theatre.  Firstly the acoustics were just a tad awful.  In the louder moments both the orchestra and the singers were distorted so that some of the dialogue/songs (especially the choruses) were a bit difficult to parse.

The major complaint I had though, was the cramped and uncomfortable seating.  Old and worn, and closely spaced, they were not ideal for a long show. I felt cramped in at the end of Row BB in the balcony and after half an hour the wooden edge under my thighs felt as if it was completely unpadded.  Worst of all, I had to set with my feet cramped in and knees bent at exactly the angle they hate.  So by the interval I was in such pain that I had almost lost track of the plot of the musical being performed.  I was so glad when the show finally arrived at the interval.   I stood up so quickly as the curtain went down that I inadvertently started a standing ovation!

As we returned to our seats I asked the usher if I could move, politely explaining that I was disabled and describing my predicament.  I spent the second half of the show up in the unoccupied seats above, on one of the aisle seats with better cushions and plenty of room to stretch.  As a result I enjoyed the rest of the show much more.

Afterwards I dropped Tim back to his lodgings and drove on home to Katanning.  Oddly enough, I could not remember the songs and tunes from Les Miserables,  so I sang Phantom of the Opera, and Rocky Horror instead.  Then I just played the MP3 player.

I must get a Les Mis Soundtrack.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Les is still Miserable After All These Years

  1. Pilgrim33 says:

    Think back to the seats in the Henderson theatre before it (oh so mysteriously) burned down.
    I have ever seen Les Mis and out of respect to the book I probably never will.
    One of the very few ‘classic’ works worth reading.

    Like

  2. DaveB says:

    Paul S would turn in his grave – if he he was in his grave.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Smoky Pizza on the Barbecue « Comfort Cookery

Please comment!

