Intermezzo

Dear Rose found my car key.  Some kind person had picked it up and put it with all the other keys in the Shire safe.  I assume it fell on the floor of my office, which was adjacent to the safe at the time ( I have since relocated to the other end of the building).

Rose spotted an unlabelled Toyota key amongst the collection and correctly deduced that it could be mine.  I was so grateful I bought her a box of the best chocolates in town.

I am glad to have found it, because it seems that the Camry has a smart key system.  If you lose all the keys, you are stuffed, as you can’t get the transponder unit wrapped around the ignition lock barrel to talk to the ECU and allow the car to start.  To fix this requires a new smart key to be coded into the ECU.  According to Toyota this is not possible, and you have to buy a new ECU & key combination.  I was warned to expect to pay anything up to $1000 to solve the problem.

So, once the key was safely recovered, I immediately went back to Toyota and bought a new key and door opener, for the sum of $135.  Still over the top, if you ask me, but at least it was affordable.  I celebrated the savings I had made by buying a barbecue.

I have not been writing much in the blog lately.  I am a little blocked.  I have been composing words in my head that I have not really been happy with.  Still working though.  Don’t give up on me.

The ride that Dave and I enjoyed has settled into memory and I have jotted a few notes to keep the whole thing in order, because I found even while we were riding that events and places seemed to rearrange themselves in my mind, and get out of sequence.  That is my next project, to write up the ride.  Maybe I should set myself a deadline.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Intermezzo

  1. Alan says:

    Fair comment. But I don’t really work on that basis. My regular bills are paid fortnightly or monthly, Regular transfers to the retirement fund, savings, an account set aside to send support to the girls now and then, and the rest is discretionary spending.
    .

    Like

    • Pilgrim33 says:

      I should probably apologise here.
      I wrote that after a long conversation with a friend who is showing increasing signs of instability both mental and financial and and who VERY LOUDLY AND VEHEMENTLY laughs off any hint of caution.
      Having gone through long years of such with Mum I am probably over sensitive and really should not stick my nose into your business.
      Sorry.
      Go buy a harbour bridge.
      I just happen to have a bargain on offer……

      Like

  2. Mum used to work on that basis.
    I have “saved” this much money by not spending it on (usually something essential-like bills) so I can spend that much or more on something else.(usually trash.)
    That’s one reason she died heavily in debt-and the worry about the debt was a prime contributor to her early death.
    That just pushes one of my buttons.

    Like

Please comment!