Road Humour

This evening I went to the pub with Carl and Cindy for a quick after work drink.  I drank two pints of lemon lime and bitters while the others had house white and Carlton Draft.  Rachael and Kane came in to have dinner and a wine or beer  so I ordered up a big bowl of the famous pub wedges with sour cream and chilli sauce and the gang ended up kickin’ together for the evening.   It turned into an evening-long chat and pool session.

I do believe I have the makings of a social life happening here!

A gang of strangers were in the bar.  (You know you have assimilated in a small town when you frequent  the pub as rarely as I do and yet know who are strangers).   It was easy to tull from their exxunts thet they were Kiwis.

I guessed they might be a new gang of shearers but I was wrong.  They told me they are a gang of road painters.  The people who put the white lines on the road.

“Cool” said I.  “I used to be a road painter too. I only lasted three days though before I was fired.  The first day was ok, I painted three km.  The second day only two.  On the third I only painted 250 metres.  The boss sacked me.  I thought it was not fair, because it was getting further and further back to the paint pot.”

They looked at me gravely.  Not a smile in sight.

You know what? I don’t believe they had heard that one before.

Because then, one of them said “We use trucks these days.

And they all turned back to watching the Olympic gymnasts on the big screen.

 

 

 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Road Humour

  1. Alan says:

    Went over their heads I guess. I wonder if I had started it by saying “There was this Irishman….”

    Like

  2. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist says:

    A little too abstract a concept for the poor dears?

    Like

  3. Funny… That may be why they “Road Painters”…

    Like

Please comment!

