Singing Again in the Shower

Yesterday I was in such pain I put myself on light duties and did not venture out of the office except for a quick trip to look over a fence at a backyard allegedly full of animals.  I could barely walk,  and climbing steps or turning left really hurt.  I reported a flare-up to the arthritis pain study website. I wondered how this might affect the trip I am so looking forward to (to which I am so looking forward?)

My new sleeping bag arrived.  I had ordered a large one, as my present bag, though snug and warm, is actually too snug.  Being a portly sort of chap, I find that when the zip is closed I am in a straight-jacket with no manoeuvring room. I cannot move to such an extent that I actually feel panicky. This has never been a problem before as I could sleep with the zip open when it was not that cold.  At present, it is.

No such problem with the new one.  I tried it out last night.  I slept sound and snug, and was able to turn over without discomfort.  This morning I awoke pain free!  Not just back to the low-level of pain to which I have become adapted, but no pain at all!  Remarkable.  I can only postulate that the temperature control is more constant when zipped into a sleeping bag, rather than under a duvet.  Perhaps it was also aided by the double dose of diclofenac I took before bedtime, though that has not had such a drastic effect before.  Of course it is probably temporary, but there was one clear indication that I am feeling good for now at least.  I was singing in the shower this morning.

 

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Singing Again in the Shower

  1. Alan says:

    I tried it again last night and it does help. I am seriously thinking of making legwarmers from an old sleeping bag!

    Like

  2. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist says:

    Who knew of the therapeutic benefits of sleeping bags!

    Like

  3. Alan says:

    Of course by lunch time I was pretty much back to normal, having been out water sampling all morning. Normal is acceptable. I reviewed my own dosages down because I want my liver and kidneys to outlast my knees. I can revise up again if I need to.

    Like

  4. Pilgrim33 says:

    Tell your doctor all that and ask him to review your dosage-and to take the trip into account.

    Like

  5. Me and my riding buddies (Larry & Larry) all suffer from various ailments. Some severe. We are always worrying weather one of us might not make some of the trips and sometimes Larry with back trouble did not get to go. It’s a bummer when that happens. I hope thing go well and you get to make the trip…

    Like

    • Alan says:

      NOTHING will prevent me making this trip, even if I have to surgically remove my own knees and replace them with plywood and cardboard replicas!

      Like

Please comment!

