Diagnosis Confirmed.

I have just heard back from the surgeon  at the Institute of Bone and Joint Research, University of Sydney, Department of Rheumatology.  He is in charge of the study I volunteered for.  He has examined the X-rays taken at Katanning Hospital last week and confirms I have osteo-arthritis in both knees. Surprise.   Irish folk will understand when I say I am very glad to hear this, because if I did not have arthritis, what the hell is causing the pain?

So, now I am part of  a “Study of risk factors for Pain exacerbation in osteoarthritis of the Knee” (SPARK-Web).  The study is designed to identify risk factors (physical activity, foot-wear, knee injury, medication use, weather factors, psychological factors) of knee pain and assess their magnitude of effect in those with knee osteoarthritis.

Sounds like fun.  I have been doing my own personal study for some time, and I have already ascertained – to my own satisfaction – that tomatoes are not a factor (thankfully) but cold is, and so are shoes with worn heels.  As a result I have two pairs of perfectly good McKinlays that need resoling before I can wear them again.   I have also satisfied myself that Lyprinol has not been any help.  At least not by itself. So I am going back to the pain medications, Osteo-Panadol and Diclofenac, which I had dropped in an effort to protect my liver while I tried alternatives.  The last week has not been pleasant as a result, and the strain shows in my face.

Roll on the warmer weather.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Autobiography, Food and drink, Health and wellness, Life, don't talk to me about life!, Lifestyle, News and politics, Non-Events, Science. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Diagnosis Confirmed.

  1. A clear case for the use of (medically prescribed) Cannabis sativa.

    Like

Please comment!

