30

Arrived home at 0210 this morning, after picking Carl up at Perth Airport.  It was a great drive home, him enthusiastic about the trip he has just completed, and me about the one I am planning.  Music blasting from my MP3 player via the radio.  I sang myself hoarse, Carl sent and received a few texts, then sank into a reverie from which he roused periodically to say “Marvellous”.  He was referring to his weekend, not my singing.  He may have dozed a bit.  He was very quiet for a long time.  I was chipper and alert. I like driving at night.

Trip Wildlife score: One owl, FOUR kangaroos. All left safely alive on the roadside.

I had spent the evening before Carl’s plane landed with my sister and brother-in-law in Forrestfield, a mere hop skip and a jump from the airport.  Steve told me of some more places we should include in our itinerary on the upcoming ride to the Pilbara and back.  He enthused about the sights and roads along the way.  We pored over maps to find the roads to ride, locate gas stations and list interesting places to stop and look around.  That was handy as my gas station map book still has not arrived.  Google Maps are only good so far.

Riding home Carl and I stopped for a snack in Armadale, at the only place open at that time of night; McDonald’s.  I had a filet of fish. The only thing they have at that establishment that is worth eating, in my opinion. Except their chips. And their hash browns in the morning…  But I digress.

The planned night sky photo-session was postponed due to a lack of sky.  It was overcast.  In fact we drove through rain for much of the way.  We did have a leg stretch, pee and coffee break at one lay-by near the half way point, but it was pretty cold and so I was glad enough not to have to fiddle about with tripods and time exposures.

After I dropped Carl at his duplex, I headed home to my own little flat, showered and crawled into my electrically heated bed, where I slept dreamless as far as I recall.

Glad of that.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

