Sky Watcher

I drove to Perth and back on Thursday after work, to drop off a friend as a favour.  Paying forward some of the karma that I have incurred in my own need in the past.

The return trip took 6 hours 15 minutes. Without breaking the speed limit.  I set my cruise control on 109 on the highway, and 100 on one backroad in the rain. I carefully obeyed the limits thru the city and towns/communities.  I do not want to lose my licence just before the trip we are planning!

On the way home I stopped on a roadside lay-by just north of Williams for a break and a leg-stretch.  I parked under the trees, turned out the lights and sat on a log in the dark with a cup of Thermos coffee and a Kit-kat.  Above me the bones of a dead leafless tree were silhouetted against the Milky Way.

The sky was nothing less than awesome. The loom of Perth was far away on the horizon, and did not seem to  affect the sky overhead.  The light from anywhere nearer was insignificant.  I almost camped right there just so I could  lay back and look up for the rest of the night.  But clouds blew in even as I watched, and I did have to be at work this morning, because I am saving my leave for an upcoming trip I may just have casually mentioned in passing.  So I finished my coffee and drove on.

I am returning Sunday, to pick up the same person, and I shall take a good camera and a tripod with me.  We shall see if I can capture some of the awe inspiring beauty of night over here.  I hope the clouds roll away again for me.

On the nature watch front, in my headlights I saw a small fast furry creature that was not a rat.  I have no idea what it was, and no clues from my friends. Perhaps it was a small possum.

I also saw two foxes but could not hit them.  That is a shame.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Art, Autobiography, Hobbies, Nature, Philosophy, Photography, Travel, Wldlife. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sky Watcher

  1. Pingback: The Fast Furry Creature | Flitting Amongst The Swanplants

  2. Pingback: 30 | Flitting Amongst The Swanplants

  3. Pilgrim33 says:

    Fox tastes very bad afaik.
    But the pelts are lovely.
    Try a 22-250 with a spotlight.

    Like

Please comment!

