Experience it or Film it?

I was berating myself a little for having neglected the opportunity to film Ronald Kray the Yabbie during his moult.  It was fascinating to watch, and one does not always get such an opportunity.  The odds of me being present as it happened are pretty low. Like the transformation of Monarch caterpillars that gave me such grief,  it was all over in a few seconds.  I missed both the pupation transformation, and the moment the butterfly emerged, each time by only a few seconds.

I reminded myself that when I was taking shots of fireworks displays, I had come to realise that while I was taking the photos, some of which turned out quite well, I was missing the show, and not getting the full thrill of the event.  Sometimes one has to just forget about anything else, and experience it, rather than try to capture it.

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Experience it or Film it?

  1. Alan says:

    Thus speaks a Harley Loving Non Rider. Tell him why you don’t ride a Harley TR!

    Like

  2. Pilgrim33 says:

    True.
    On a 2-wheeler you are so busy dodging the two-and-a-half-tons of taxi you don’t have time to enjoy the ride.((:)>.

    Like

  3. Pictures are worth a thousand words but they can never capture the actual event. Experience is every thing. That’s also true with car vs motorcycle travel…

    Like

  4. Alan says:

    I agree OPM. I carry a camera with me most times, but even so when something cool crops up it is often nice just to watch it happen.

    Like

  5. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist says:

    I have this dilemma often. Despite my love of photography, sometimes it’s just better to experience

    Like

  6. Danae says:

    Pretty damned awesome….Ive neither seen nor experienced….another thumbs up to you for grabbing those shots.

    Like

  7. Alan says:

    Good point, I think most of the time memories are better, but I do like to review old pics sometimes. especially now that I am increasingly coming across fairly interesting old shots that I barely recall or even do not remember being present at all!

    Like

  8. Pilgrim33 says:

    How often do you look at ore-than-1-year-old photos?
    Memories are better.

    Like

Please comment!

