Next Trip (August)

Yay!  My mate Dave is coming over!

Here is the tentative first cut of the next great expedition we shall undertake together. Subject to further research on fuel availability.

All suggestions of what to see on the way gratefully received!

About Alan

Settling into my 7th decade and still determined not to grow up too soon.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Next Trip (August)

  1. Alan says:

    Funny you should ask TR… Dave’s lovely lady found us this site… http://wafuelfinder.com/
    (For Western Australia). I will see what I can find out for other areas. My brother in law in Perth has done a lot of research as he is working on plans for a trip from Brisbane to Broome and Broome to Perth.

    I believe you will find very little difficulty finding fuel almost anywhere in Oz except possibly on some legs across the top from Cairns in Queensland to Broome, down the centre to Alice springs, and on the inland stretches of western Australia (EFG on the map linked above). My task this week is to plot the distances between fuel stops. Unless we carry gas we will be limited to 230Km max range which is the 650s limit -with margin. In fact 200 would be safer. The 1300 has a range of about 300K. Say 250 for safety. So a tow rope and a fuel can might be useful items to have along.

    Some places may not be open on weekends and in fact there have been stories I have heard that in some areas the local store opens only two days a week so if you get there on the wrong day you just camp and wait until someone turns up to sell you fuel at outrageous prices, canned food at expensive restaurant prices and water that costs more than beer!
    Cheers!

    Like

  2. Hey Alan, I have been looking at doing a trip around OZ and my biggest concern is fuel availability. That can be an issues in place here in West Texas if your bike has a limited range. From what I have been able to find out about my trip which would cover your western leg is that fuel can be an issue… I haven’t looked at your eastern leg but I guessing it would be even more of an issue… Is there a good site or sites where you can get info on where petrol stations are located. I know google and yahoo maps have some info but they are not always complete and up to date.

    Like

Please comment!

