Dragons and Dragonflies

The unread pile of books is still sitting unread.  I was lucky enough to pick up a hefty stack of  ex-library books at a couple of dollars each, all of which were titles I have been wanting to read.  Among them was The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo, and two sequels.  Seeing a title with “Dragon” in it reminded me of one of my two all time favourite reads, the Earthsea series of (six) books by Ursula K. Le Guin.  I happen to have brought them to Katanning with me, along with my rice paper edition of the Lord of the Rings Trilogy,  and a beautifully bound and boxed Complete Works of Oscar Wilde.   Nostalgia rules, so I have started reading A Wizard of  Earthsea again.  I don’t know what it is about this series, in particular the first and third books, that I love so much, but they give me a very special feeling.

Speaking of Dragons, at lunch today I noticed a stranger in the aquarium.  A dragonfly nymph.  It must have grown quite a lot in the tank, because if it had been as big as it is now when I caught it (as I must have) at Marribank, I would have noticed it.  It is larger than the smaller fish I caught, and being a fierce predator, I expect it will have one of them soon, if it hasn’t already.  I shall have to count them tonight, if I can.

I shall be standing by with a camera in hopes of a spectacular hunting shot.

 

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

