Velociraptors

Carl thinks I am – to put it mildly – eccentric.  At dinner last week Cindy was saying that she had to hunt high and low for a doona for her daughter.  Doona is what Australians call a duvet.  Her daughter had particular taste in doona colours and patterns, and Cindy had found it was very difficult and ultimately very expensive, to find something suitable in king size.  I sympathised, remarking that I was pleased I was at last able to indulge my own taste in bed coverings, instead of putting up with the expensive frilly patchwork choices of my former partner.   At last I had the disruptive pattern duvet I had always wanted.  With matching pillows.  In fact I have had it for almost a year now.

Carl looked at me as if I was insane.    “Why would you want a camouflage pattern duvet?”

I looked at him as if he must be crazy.  “Really, I am surprised you don’t know the answer to that, Carl.  So that I can hide from the velociraptors.  Obviously.  Everyone knows the only way to avoid capture by velociraptors  is to hide under the bed-covers.  Think how much more effective that would be with camouflage pattern covers!”

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

Please comment!

