Back to Marribank

Last week I told Brenton about the abandoned community at Marribank and he thought that would be a really good Sunday ride with a photo opportunity for us to do today. So after a coffee we set off, me only vaguely aware of where to go, because I had discovered the place while riding lost on the back roads between Katanning and Kojonup, and had not really paid attention to precisely where it was.  I remembered that on my return I had emerged on to the main road from Marron Pool road.  However on the way we stopped in to see a friend of Brenton’s, who gave me some weed for my aquarium and also gave us instructions for locating Marribank, which did not include any reference to Marron Pool Road, though Mission Road and Cherry Tree Pool Road were mentioned.  So we rode through to Kojonup where we found the bakery closed.  No Pies!  On to Cherry Tree road, and eventually after a bit of casting about we came on Marribank from the other side .  It is here in Google Maps.  I can’t show the route because GM does not recognise half the roads in the area, and certainly does not seem aware that they link up with each other.

No wonder Lara gets lost in this region.

We introduced ourselves to the caretaker who with his family, is the only resident.  The people were very friendly.  We took some photos  and I dabbled in the nearby stream where I caught some freshwater shrimp.  I put them in the plastic bag of aquarium weeds and introduced them to the tank on my return.  They will either thrive or feed the existing tank occupants.

When we rode back, we emerged on the Katanning -Kojonup road, as I had suspected, from Marron Pool Road.  We had added over 30km to the journey following other people’s directions.  Fantastic.  That is what Sunday rides are all about!  Forgive me for repeating myself, but even this little corner of Western Australia is BIG.  Getting lost is easy, and  quite a lot of fun.

I was riding the White Lady today.  I definitely prefer to ride her for short trips and on gravel roads.  She handles much better on gravel and is lighter and more responsive at lower revs.  I would have spent most of today in second or third gear on the 1300, but the 650 chugs happily in 5th down to 60 or 70 kph and still responds to a twist of the throttle.  The gravel roads were still mostly wet and sloppy, and we were flicking up mud in some areas while on one stretch that must have been wind dried we kicked up red dust.  Rain had washed out some of the roads and the 4WDs that  usually travel them have created some awful corrugations in places.  That was uncomfortable, but fortunately only a short section.

Everywhere was evidence of the storm last weekend.  Trees  had been bulldozed off the road, and were partly cut up by chainsaws, or lay  as they had fallen if they had not blocked the road.  Branches and debris were everywhere.  I made a rough tally on one stretch of road and I estimate that about 2 trees in every hundred were blown over or seriously damaged in that area.

On the other hand, the countryside is greening already. The recent rain has had good effect.  The first fields of wheat have sprouted and are covered in that lovely young emerald green colour of new growth.

On our return, we shot all three V Stars together for the first time.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

On Wednesday afternoon, I am going to ride the silver Lady to Fremantle, where I will stay for a couple of days while on a Food Act workshop with the WA Dept. of Health.

I hope the weather will be pleasant, but I shall be riding rain or shine.

About Uisce úr

Though I am old with wandering Through hollow lands and hilly lands, I will find out where she has gone, And kiss her lips and take her hands; And walk among long dappled grass, And pluck till time and times are done, The silver apples of the moon, The golden apples of the sun.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Back to Marribank

  1. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist says:

    I love discovering places like this, towns that have been built, lived in and left. There are precious few of them in Australia, but there is one up near Walcha in the NSW New England region. Neither I or my wife, who is originally from Walcha could remember what it was called. Looking at the map it’s either Kentucky South or Wollun. Must be time for a trip back up there.

    Like

  2. I love riding to places like that. Doesn’t look like it has been abandoned for very long… I’m sure there is a story here… and sometimes the stories are more interesting than seeing…

    Like

Please comment!

