Raw Data

I had an interesting conversation with a rather fanatical RAW VEGAN today.  An attractive young lady – if somewhat on the excessively slim side.  She looks as if the wind we had last Sunday would have whipped her away.  I wondered how she got her  B vitamins to fend off Pellagra.  Marmite.  Ok.  Does that count as raw? Or am I being picky?

It seems that all processed foods are bad, and cooking is a form of processing.  Meat is trebly bad.  Unethical, unhealthy and disgusting.

I cannot agree.

I tend to cordially withdraw from conversations at the point the fanaticism shows, because fanaticism is just too wearying, and reason does not have a chance in the face of it.  The last time I chided a young woman on her extremely naïve and opinionated food statements caused me a considerable amount of grief in the form of childish tantrums while we were travelling together on a mission for SOPAC.

May the FSM keep me from being fanatical about anything except motorcycling and SCUBA diving.

So today I did not get to point out that current scientific thinking is that it was the combination of our omnivorous feeding habits with the  invention of cooking that made the nutrients in raw foods more readily available for digestion and development.  It was probably this that  contributed to the very rapid evolution of our brains,and thus of our intellect, at the time we became sapiens.  Development was so rapid that the rest of the body did not keep up.  The larger heads of babies meant a significant change in gestation and birthing in our species, that has caused some problems ever since.  We are the only species that has so many problems in parturition.

But it also  probably led to what we call civilisation.

In other words it was omnivorousness and cooking that made us what we are.  To become a Raw Vegan is to try to turn back the clock to pre-neolithic times.  No problem for an individual, or a group, but certainly a problem for a species.

I ate grilled marinated pork spare ribs and salad this evening.  The meat was the better part of the meal.

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Raw Data

  1. Alan says:

    I like that very much!

    Like

  2. I have a T-shirt from a Texas BBQ restaurant that says… “Vegetarian is an Indian word meaning poor hunter.” I thought you might like that saying since I pretty much feel the same…

    Like

Please comment!

