My first Motorcycle

Not just  a twinge, but a veritable stab of nostalgia as I discovered that the first motorcycle I owned has its own page.  Strangely enough, in Dutch. It was from a Nederlander, Arnie, that I bought this beauty for 5 shillings, an amount that only a few months later became  50 cents, .

And here is a picture of her:

My first Motorcycle

Nassetti Dilly Turismo

I cannot begin to describe the sense of freedom she gave me.  Just knowing that I was no longer restricted by how far I could pedal.  In theory  I could now go anywhere!  Who cared if it had only a top speed of 29 miles per hour.  32 downhill.   It was a motor cycle.   She was a quantum leap from the first Raleigh push-bike that first gave me freedom to travel.  (Trikes and pedal cars don’t count).

Once I passed my test, I was gone.

You never forget your first love.

 

About Alan

Alone in a sea of spinifex.
This entry was posted in Life, don't talk to me about life!. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to My first Motorcycle

  1. Observations of a Perpetual Motorcyclist says:

    That is great that you tracked her down. Would love to hear more of your adventures on Bike #1.

    Like

  2. Alan says:

    I could have sworn I posted this already, but it just popped up as a draft. Something funny is going on in WordPress at present. I have also found that the editing tools keep vanishing.

    Like

Please comment!

